Memorial for the founder of Cap Anamur Rupert Neudeck

Because of his radical humanitarian engagement and the rescue of about 11,000 Vietnamese refugees, a monument is created for Rupert Neudeck in his hometown Troisdorf (close to Bonn). The founder of Cap Anamur passed away two years ago after a surgery in Siegburg. The monument is unveiled during an official ceremony on Saturday, May 12 th , 2018. Former Vietnamese refugees cover the costs.

Rupert Neudeck saved over 11,000 persons from drowning in the Southern China Sea. Touched by the great need of the Vietnamese refugees, he and his wife Christel and Nobel Prize winner Heinrich Böll rented a boat and built up a hospital on it. In 1982, the committee Cap Anamur/Deutsche Notärzte (today: Cap Anamur/Deutsche
Not-Ärzte e.V.) emerged from the committee “Ein Schiff für Vietnam” (English: “A Ship for Vietnam”).

However, the rescue of the refugees in the South China Sea was just the beginning. The association started to engage worldwide and helped especially where media lost interest. From the beginning, medical supply, training of local specialists as well as building and maintaining medical facilities and schools were paramount. Until 1998, Rupert Neudeck was in the association’s executive board. Afterwards, he became a spokesperson of the aid organisation. Only in 2003, he left the association’s management but stayed loyally attached to the association up until his death.

Rupert Neudeck deceased on May 31st, 2016 at the age of 77 from the consequences of a heart operation.

Denkmal für Cap Anamur-Gründer Rupert Neudeck

Für seinen radikalen, humanitären Einsatz und die Rettung von über 11.000 vietnamesischer Flüchtlinge bekommt Rupert Neudeck in seiner Heimatstadt Troisdorf (bei Bonn) ein Denkmal gestellt. Der Cap Anamur-Gründer war vor etwa zwei Jahren nach einer Operation in Siegburg verstorben. Das Denkmal wird am Samstag, 12. Mai 2018, mit einem Festakt enthüllt. Die Kosten für das Denkmal tragen ehemalige vietnamesische Flüchtlinge.

Über 11.000 Menschen hatte Rupert Neudeck im südchinesischen Meer vor dem Ertrinken gerettet. Berührt von der großen Not der vietnamesischen Flüchtlinge hatte er zusammen mit seiner Frau Christel und dem Nobelpreisträger Heinrich Böll ein Schiff gemietet und auf diesem ein Hospital errichtet. Aus dem Komitee „Ein Schiff für Vietnam“ ging 1982 das Komitee Cap Anamur/Deutsche Notärzte (heute: Cap Anamur/Deutsche Not-Ärzte e.V.) hervor.

Die Rettung der Flüchtlinge aus dem Südchinesischen Meer war jedoch erst der Anfang. Der Verein begann sich weltweit zu betätigen und vor allem auch dort zu helfen, wo das Interesse der Medien längst erloschen war. Dabei standen die medizinische Versorgung, die Ausbildung von lokalen Fachkräften und der Bau und die Instandsetzung von medizinischen Einrichtungen und Schulen von Anfang an im Vordergrund. Bis 1998 gehörte Rupert Neudeck dem Vorstand des Vereins an, danach wurde er Sprecher der Hilfsorganisation. Erst im Jahr 2003 gab er die Führung des Vereins völlig aus der Hand, blieb diesem aber bis zu seinem Tod treu verbunden.

Rupert Neudeck starb am 31. Mai 2016 im Alter von 77 Jahren an den Folgen einer Herzoperation.