Bangladesch – 7000 masks for students

With the outbreak of the Corona pandemic in Bangladesh in April 2020, all educational institutions were closed. After almost a year, the first schools reopened and Cap Anamur distributed protective masks to the students.

The school closure, which has lasted almost an entire year in Bangladesh, has led to a high educational deficit among girls and boys. Especially children from very poor families have felt the wide-ranging effects. Going to school for those children means social contacts, school support as well as a warm meal a day – usually the only one at all.

Even tough schools in Bangladesh have now reopened, there is a steady increase in the number of Corona infections since the beginning of March. Hygiene and safety precautions are therefore indispensable.

Children from poorer families cannot even afford protective masks

Unfortunately, many people in Bangladesh cannot adhere to the important hygiene recommendations because they cannot adhere to social distancing regulations in crowded cities or as day laborers who cannot stay at home. Some families are even too poor to afford masks.

Education authorities have reached out to Cap Anamur and asked for support in distributing the masks to schools and orphanages. In addition to providing the masks, we also provide education on how to correctly wear the masks. We educate the students about the importance of masks as a protection against infections, especially with the currently increasing number of infections.

7,000 protective masks for students in Bangladesh

We have distributed almost 7,000 masks in the SUS school in Netrokona, in the orphanage JogothJoti as well as in the school in Ramu, Cox’s Bazar. Here are especially children from very poor families, who can afford neither disinfectants nor protective masks.

With those important measures we contribute to the fact that particularly the children of very poor families receive the support needed for the restriction of the Corona infections.

So far, we have distributed masks as part of our medical care near our cooperating clinics. Now beyond that we are also taking care of the children in Bangladesh.

7.000 Masken für Schüler*innen

Mit dem Ausbruch der Corona-Pandemie im April 2020 in Bangladesch, wurden alle Bildungseinrichtungen geschlossen. Nach fast einem Jahr öffnen die ersten Schulen wieder und Cap Anamur verteilt Schutzmasken für die Schüler*innen.

Die fast einjährige Schulschließung in Bangladesch hat bei den Mädchen und Jungen zu einem hohen Bildungsdefizit geführt. Besonders Kinder aus sehr armen Familien haben daneben weitreichende Auswirkungen gespürt. Zur Schule gehen bedeutet für diese Kinder, soziale Kontakte, schulische Unterstützung und eine warme Mahlzeit am Tag – meist die einzige überhaupt.

Zwar wurden die Schulen in Bangladesch nun wieder geöffnet, gleichzeitig steigen die Corona-Infektionszahlen seit Anfang März stark an. Hygiene- und Schutzmaßnahmen sind daher unerlässlich.

Ärmste Familien können sich nicht einmal Schutzmasken leisten

Leider können sich viele Menschen in Bangladesch nicht an die wichtigen Hygieneempfehlungen halten, da sie Abstandregeln in den überfüllten Städten nicht einhalten können, oder als Tagelöhner nicht zu Hause bleiben können. Manche Familien sind sogar zu arm, um sich Masken leisten zu können.

Die Schulbehörde hat sich an Cap Anamur gewandt und um Unterstützung beim Verteilen der Masken an Schulen und Waisenhäuser gebeten. Denn wir leisten neben der Bereitstellung der Masken auch die Aufklärungsarbeit für das richtige Tragen der Masken. Wir klären die Schüler und Schülerinnen über die wichtige Bedeutung der Masken als Infektionsschutz auf, besonders bei den derzeit zunehmenden Infektionszahlen.

7.000 Schutzmasken für Schüler*innen in Bangladesch

Wir haben fast 7.000 Masken in der SUS-Schule in Netrokona, im Waisenhaus JogothJoti und in der Schule in Ramu, Cox`s Bazar verteilt. Hier sind besonders Kinder aus sehr armen Familien, die sich weder Desinfektionsmittel noch Schutzmasken leisten können.

Mit diesen wichtigen Maßnahmen tragen wir dazu bei, dass besonders die Kinder ganz armer Familien Unterstützung für die Einschränkung der Corona-Infektion erhalten.

Bisher haben wir Masken im Rahmen unserer medizinischen Versorgung in der Nähe unserer kooperierenden Kliniken verteilt. Nun kümmern wir uns darüber hinaus auch um die Kinder in Bangladesch.