Medical support despite difficult security situation

Since the gradual withdrawal of international troops from Afghanistan, the media interest in the country’s situation has also declined. Being left alone with the Taliban, the IS and other militias, the country’s situation appears to be fatal. For the political influence of the official government usually does not go far beyond the border of the city of Kabul, the political and religious spokesmen of the tribal affiliations are fighting for regional predominance in the 34 provinces. The attacks and fights continuously demand civilian victims and an end of violence is not in sight.

The United Nations have been trying to gather victims of these conflicts on a systematic basis since 2007. Apparently, the number of people killed or wounded in the country’s ongoing conflicts has reached a sad climax in 2015. According to the “Global Terrorism Index 2015“, Afghanistan is ranked second after Iraq on the list of most severely affected countries by terrorist activities. Throughout the country, the Taliban and other insurgent groups are gaining ground.

The security situation is under increasing strain and has also singularly complicated our work: kidnappings and armed robbery is the order of the day. Militant groups are sabotaging construction projects and supply capabilities urgently needed to improve the standard of living of the civilian population. Unfortunately, a change in this development is not in sight. Given the current situation in the country, our work appears to be even more important.

High infant mortality

After almost 4 decades of war, Afghanistan is ranked no. 16 (of 193 states in total) in the latest UNICEF statistics on infant mortality worldwide: one in every 7 children dies before its fifth birthday. Quite often, children die in the first months of their lives. Rural regions that lack well-equipped hospitals and therefore have to rely on home births appear to be particularly affected by this. The infant mortality rate of children under 5 years is at least 91 of 1.000. These figures refer solely to the registered cases. Given the difficulty to cover remote areas in the statistics, the estimated number might be far higher. For comparison: the infant mortality rate in Germany is 4 of 1.000.

Education as a fundamental milestone

The training of midwives and nurses is essential in a country like Afghanistan, which is strongly marked by patriarchal structures and does not expect women to pursue paid employment. But it’s exactly here where those are missed – amongst others in health care professions and particularly in such sensitive sectors as gynecology and obstetrics. If for cultural or religious reasons, male doctors are not allowed to attend birth, the domestic birth with the help of female non-professionals is the only remaining possibility for pregnant women. Accompanied by all the deadly risks that can come with a birth far from the assistance of midwives and hygiene, 85% of Afghan mothers give birth at home.

With regard to the alignment of our projects, special importance is attached to the considerably high impact education has on the development of a population. Our training schedule is coordinated with the local Ministry of Health. Thus, the exam is officially recognized and state-certified. Our local teaching personnel undergo frequent advanced training in order to keep their knowledge up to date at any time.

All expenses, that is approximately 3.200 € for the whole 2-year training course of a midwife or a nurse respectively are covered by Cap Anamur. Apart from the instructors’ salaries, this also includes working material, electricity and heating costs as well as the accommodation of trainees and the care for their children. After the conclusion of the training course, the students return to their home town as certified midwives or so-called Community Health Nurses and create awareness for what they have learned within their respective local environment. They operate pre- and post natal care as well as obstetrics and are available to answer questions regarding vaccinations, hygiene and prevention.

The last 7 years of work are clearly showing signs of success: only two month ago, on 5th May 2016, another 81 graduates were celebrated in Herat. As part of this festivity, 41 midwives and 40 nurses received their certificates. Since the beginning of the project in 2009, a total of 130 midwives and 76 nurses have been trained.

Construction and maintenance of hospitals

Besides the training of midwives and nurses, Cap Anamur builds and operates hospitals in rural regions of Afghanistan. Five of these hospitals could already be passed over to the state system. As planned, all facilities remain in operation and are able to reach population groups which were previously excluded from adequate medical care.

Construction work on the sixth clinic has been concluded in mid 2015. Following the compulsory 3-year period, the clinic will be handed over into state responsibility as well.

Medizinische Hilfe in schwieriger Lage

Seit sich die internationalen Truppen zunehmend aus Afghanistan zurück gezogen haben, ging auch das mediale Interesse an der Situation im Land zurück. Für die Menschen vor Ort, die mit den Taliban, dem IS und anderen Milizen allein gelassen werden, ist das fatal, denn während der politische Einfluss der offiziellen Regierung meist nicht über die Stadtgrenzen Kabuls hinausreicht, kämpfen die politischen und religiösen Wortführer verschiedener Stammeszugehörigkeit in den 34 Provinzen um die regionale Vorherrschaft. Ein Ende der Gewalt ist nicht in Sicht und die Anschläge und Kämpfe fordern immer wieder zivile Opfer.

Seit 2007 versuchen die Vereinten Nationen systematisch die Opfer des Konflikts zu erfassen und kamen zu der Erkenntnis, dass noch nie so viele Zivilisten getötet oder verletzt worden sind, wie im Jahr 2015. Dem „Global Terrorism Index 2015“ zufolge erreicht Afghanistan den zweiten Rang hinter dem Irak in der Liste der am stärksten von terroristischen Aktivitäten betroffenen Länder weltweit. Im ganzen Land sind die Taliban und andere aufständische Gruppierungen auf dem Vormarsch.

Die Sicherheitslage wird immer angespannter und erschwert auch unsere Arbeit ungemein: Entführungen und bewaffnete Überfälle stehen an der Tagesordnung. Sie sabotieren Bauvorhaben und Versorgungsmöglichkeiten, die zur Verbesserung der Lebensstandards der Zivilbevölkerung dringend nötig sind. Eine Veränderung der Lage ist leider nicht in Sicht. Umso notwendiger in dieser Situation ist unsere Arbeit im Land.

Hohe Kindersterblichkeit

Nach fast vier Jahrzehnten Krieg steht Afghanistan auf Platz 16 (von insgesamt 193 Staaten) der neusten UNICEF-Statistiken zur Kindersterblichkeit weltweit: Jedes siebte Kind erlebt seinen fünften Geburtstag nicht, oft sterben Kinder bereits in den ersten Lebensmonaten. Besonders die ländlichen Regionen sind davon betroffen, denn hier finden die Entbindungen nach wie vor zu Hause statt und nicht in einem Krankenhaus mit ausreichend geschultem Personal. Die Kindersterblichkeitsrate liegt bei mindestens 91 von 1.000 bei Kindern unter fünf Jahren. Diese Zahlen beziehen sich lediglich auf die registrierten Fälle. Die Dunkelziffer dürfte weitaus höher liegen, da insbesondere die abgelegenen Gebiete in der Statistik oft nicht erfasst werden können. Zum Vergleich: In Deutschland liegt die Kindersterblichkeitsrate bei 4 zu 1.000.

Bildung als Grundpfeiler

Die Ausbildung von Hebammen und Krankenschwestern ist sehr wichtig, denn in einem patriarchalisch geprägten Land wie Afghanistan ist es nicht vorgesehen, dass Frauen einer Lohnarbeit nachgehen. Doch genau dort fehlen sie – unter  anderem in gesundheitlichen Berufen wie in den sensiblen Feldern der Gynäkologie und der Geburtshilfe. Wenn männliche Mediziner aus kulturell-religiösen Gründen  zudem nicht an einer Geburt teilnehmen dürfen, bleibt für Schwangere Frauen nur noch die Entbindung im häuslichen Umfeld unter Beteiligung weiblicher Laien. 85 Prozent der Mütter bringen ihre Kinder zu Hause zur Welt, mit allen tödlichen Risiken, die eine Geburt fernab von Hebammen und Hygieneversorgung birgt.

Der hohen Bedeutung, die der Bildung für die Entwicklung einer Bevölkerung zukommt, tragen wir bei der Ausrichtung unserer Projekte Rechnung. Der Ausbildungsplan ist mit dem lokalen Gesundheitsministerium abgestimmt. Das Examen ist somit offiziell anerkannt und staatlich zertifiziert. Einheimisches Lehrpersonal wird regelmäßig fortgebildet, um das Wissen stets auf dem aktuellen Stand zu halten.

Sämtliche Kosten, also etwa 3.200 Euro für die gesamte zweijährige Ausbildung einer Hebamme beziehungsweise Krankenschwester, werden von Cap Anamur getragen. Dazu zählen neben den Gehältern für die Lehrenden auch das Arbeitsmaterial, die Strom- und Heizkosten sowie die Unterbringung der Auszubildenden und die Betreuung ihrer Kinder. Nach Abschluss der Ausbildung kehren die Schülerinnen als examinierte Hebammen oder sogenannte Community Health Nurses in ihr Heimatdorf zurück und unterstützen und sensibilisieren ihr Umfeld mit dem Gelernten. Sie betreiben Schwangerenvor- und nachsorge, Geburtshilfe und stehen für Fragen zu Impfungen, Hygiene und Verhütung zur Verfügung.

Die Arbeit der letzten sieben Jahren zeigt Erfolge: Erst vor zwei Monaten, am 5. Mai 2016, wurden in Herat 81 weitere Absolventinnen gefeiert. Im Rahmen ihrer Examensfeier erhielten 41 Hebammen und 40 Krankenpflegerinnen ihre Urkunden. Seit Beginn unseres Projektes im Jahr 2009 wurden insgesamt 130 Hebammen und 76 Krankenschwestern ausgebildet.

Bau und Instandsetzung von Krankenhäusern

Neben der Ausbildung von Hebammen und Krankenschwestern baut und betreibt Cap Anamur Krankenhäuser in ländlichen Regionen von Afghanistan. Fünf dieser Krankenhäuser haben wir bereits an das staatliche System übergeben. Wie geplant sind alle Einrichtungen weiter in Betrieb und erreichen Bevölkerungsschichten, die zuvor von einer angemessenen medizinischen Versorgung ausgeschlossen waren.

Mitte 2015 haben wir die Bauarbeiten an der sechsten Klinik abgeschlossen. Auch sie wird nach Absolvierung der obligatorischen Dreijahresfrist in staatliche Verantwortung übergeben.