Fearing for the lives of young patients

When his mother brought little Fouday, who was only a few weeks old at the time, to Ola During Children’s Hospital (ODCH) in Sierra Leone, he was already unconscious. He had been gravely ill for days, his mother told to Claudia and Silke, two paediatricians from Cap Anamur. When children are hospitalised too late, their illness or disease often leads to their death. The two doctors hurried to diagnose his affliction and found that the boy was suffering from life-threatening meningitis.

Sierra Leone, a West African nation ravaged by civil war and Ebola, is one of the countries with the world’s highest child- and mother-mortality rate. Cap Anamur has been supporting the ODCH since 2009. The hospital is in Freetown, the capital. Every day, about 220 inpatients are treated in addition to the patients in the accidents and emergencies department, which most of the time is terribly overcrowded. More than 90 % of the children are below the age of five. There are not nearly enough doctors. Cap Anamur sends experienced pediatricians to Sierra Leone and provides life-saving medicine.

Furthermore, Cap Anamur-doctors work together with the young local doctors to ensure that medical care is accessible for as many children as possible. To do this, they assist the young doctors’ examinations, discuss diagnoses with them, assist with lumbar punctures or ultrasound examinations and supervise treatment. We also offer further training for local doctors and students.

Fouday was treated in intensive care and constantly monitored. The ODCH doctors and nurses fought for his life for days. Claudia and Silke discovered that the little boy was infected with meningococcal meningitis. Knowing the pathogen, they were able to treat the boy effectively. Fouday was unconscious for several days, and several times the condition of his respiratory and circulatory systems became so critical that he needed to be resuscitated. Then the little patient suddenly awoke. Having got through those difficult days, he recovered quickly and finally left the ODCH after a few weeks. He had suffered no apparent sequelae.

“We often meet children who were once seriously ill and were receiving inpatient treatment once again on the day of their release from hospital. It’s always such a joyous and touching moment for us,” said Cap Anamur-pediatrician Claudia.

Bangen um die jungen Patienten

Schon nicht mehr bei Bewusstsein wurde eines Morgens der wenige Wochen alte Fouday von seiner Mutter ins Ola During Childrens Hospital (ODCH)in Sierra Leone gebracht. Sei einigen Tagen sei er schon schwer erkrankt, erzählte seine Mutter den beiden Cap Anamur-Kinderärztinnen Claudia und Silke. Häufig führt vor allem das zu späte Einliefern der Kinder ins Krankenhaus zu einem tödlichen Verlauf der Krankheit. Schnell führten unsere beiden Mitarbeiterinnen die notwendige Diagnostik durch und konnten die vermutete lebensbedrohliche Hirnhautentzündung bestätigen.

Das vom Bürgerkrieg und Ebola traumatisierte, westafrikanische Land zählt zu den Ländern mit der höchsten Kinder- und Müttersterblichkeit weltweit. Seit 2009 unterstützt Cap Anamur das ODCH in der Hauptstadt Freetown. Täglich werden hier circa 220 stationäre Patienten zusätzlich zu der meist völlig überfüllten Notfallambulanz versorgt. Über 90 Prozent der Kinder sind unter fünf Jahre alt. Es fehlt dringend an ärztlichem Fachpersonal. Cap Anamur entsendet erfahrene Kinderärzte/innen nach Sierra Leone und versorgt die Patienten mit dringend benötigten lebensrettenden Medikamenten.

Die von Cap Anamur entsandten Kinderärzte arbeiten außerdem mit den jungen, einheimischen Ärzten zusammen, um eine möglichst breite Versorgung der Kinder zu gewährleisten. Dafür begleiten sie die jungen Ärzte bei der Untersuchung der Kinder, besprechen mit ihnen die Diagnostik, führen mit ihnen Punktionen und Ultraschalluntersuchungen durch und überwachen die Therapien. Zusätzlich führen wir Fortbildungen für lokale Ärzte und Studenten durch.

Fouday wurde auf der Intensivstation therapiert und ständig überwacht. Tagelang kämpften alle Mitarbeiter des ODCH um das Leben des kleinen Jungen. Claudia und Silke gelang es, bei dem Kleinkind Meningokokken nachzuweisen. Mit dieser Erkenntnis konnte der Junge gezielt behandelt werden. Nachdem Fouday einige Tage bewusstlos war und seine Atem- und Kreislaufsituationen mehrmals so kritisch waren, dass er wiederbelebt werden musste, erwachte der kleine Patient plötzlich. Nach diesen schwierigen Tagen erholt er sich schnell und konnte das ODCH schließlich nach wenigen Wochen ohne ersichtliche Folgeschäden verlassen.

„Häufig begegnen wir den Kindern die einst schwerst krank auf unseren Stationen lagen noch bei der Entlassung und es ist jedes Mal ein unglaublich glücklicher Moment der uns tief im Herzen berührt“, so Cap Anamur-Kinderärztin Claudia.