Extension of our supply network

During his project trip in mid-November Cap Anamur chairman Werner Strahl visited four of the medical facilities in Bangladesh which are supported by us. The hospitals of Joypurhat and Kalai are located in the north-western part of the country. The NGO-hospital of Kheya is situated in the southern part of Bangladesh and the DHUP-Foundation-School for handicapped children is based close to Dhaka. “Outside the capital countless people live far below the poverty line”, reports Werner Strahl. “For the majority it is hardly enough for their own living and only exceedingly few can raise money for medical care.” That is why Cap Anamur supports eight hospitals in total to provide medical care for the so called ultra poor, the poorest of the poor: We supply the facilities with drugs, consumption material and medical devices like ultrasound scanners. Thereby we can ensure the medical care of more than 5.000 patients per month.

Despite the big bureaucratic obstacles, which are typical for the country, the cooperation with the public hospitals works exemplarily – not least because of our long-standing and experienced coordinator Shabbir Ahmed Uddin. The Bangladeshi works since the beginning of the project about nine years ago for Cap Anamur.

For the next year we are planning the expansion of our help: „We will send experienced doctors of different specialties to Bangladesh, to train the local doctors who are eager to learn”, according to Strahl. “The polite manners of the local staff while treating the numerous patients and their relief that they can finally medicate sensibly, have pleased me very much. This will make it easier for our German doctors to teach, particularly when they are confronted with diseases by abject poverty.”

An additional plan for 2016 is the start of the cooperation with five local NGO-hospitals. Unlike in public hospitals our long aimed cooperation of foreign medical staff is permitted here, so that Cap Anamur can help at least a little against the awful shortage of doctors in the countryside. Statistically there is 1 doctor for about 3.000 people; in Germany there is 1 doctor for 260 residents.

Support us with these projects! Every donation counts.

Ausweitung unseres Versorgungsnetzes

Bei seiner Projektreise Mitte November besuchte der Cap-Anamur-Vorsitzende Werner Strahl vier der von uns unterstützen medizinischen Einrichtungen in Bangladesch. Die Krankenhäuser Joypurhat und Kalai liegen im Nordwesten des Landes, das NGO-Hospital Kheya im Westen und die Behindertenschule der DHUP-Foundation in der Nähe von Dhaka. „Außerhalb der Hauptstadt leben unzählige Menschen weit unterhalb der Armutsgrenze“, berichtet Werner Strahl. „Bei den meisten reicht es kaum für den eigenen Lebensunterhalt. Geld für eine medizinische Versorgung können nur die wenigsten aufbringen.“ Deswegen engagiert sich Cap Anamur in insgesamt acht Krankenhäusern für die Versorgung dieser sogenannten ultra poors, den Ärmsten der Armen: Wie beliefern die Einrichtungen mit Medikamenten, Verbrauchsmaterial und medizinischen Geräten wie Ultraschall. So können wir die Versorgung von mehr als 5.000 Patienten im Monat sicher stellen.

Trotz der für das Land typischen großen bürokratischen Hürden funktioniert die Zusammenarbeit mit den staatlichen Krankenhäusern vorbildlich – nicht zuletzt durch unseren langjährigen und erfahrenen Koordinators Shabbir Ahmed Uddin. Der Bangladeschi arbeitet seit Beginn des Projektes vor rund neun Jahren für Cap Anamur.

Für das kommende Jahr planen wir die Ausweitung unserer Hilfe: „Wir werden erfahrene Mediziner verschiedener Fachrichtungen nach Bangladesch entsenden, um die wissbegierigen Ärztinnen und Ärzte zu schulen“, so Strahl. „Die höflichen Umgangsformen des lokalen Personals mit den so zahlreichen Patienten und seine Erleichterung, diese endlich sinnvoll behandeln zu können, haben mich sehr gefreut. Unseren deutschen Medizinern wird das den Unterricht erleichtern, besonders wenn sie mit den Erkrankungen durch bittere Armut konfrontiert sind.“

Ebenfalls für 2016 geplant ist der Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit fünf Krankenhäusern einheimischer NGOs. Im Unterschied zu den staatlichen Häusern ist hier die von uns lange angestrebte Mitarbeit ausländischen medizinischen Personals gestattet, so dass Cap Anamur wenigstens ein klein wenig gegen den schrecklichen Medizinermangel auf dem Lande helfen kann. Für etwa 3000 Menschen gibt es statistisch 1 Arzt; in Deutschland 1 Arzt auf 260 Einwohner.

Unterstützen Sie uns bei diesen Projekten! Jede Spende zählt.