Cap Anamur is conducting a COVID-19 vaccination campaign

Until recently the vaccination of the population of the Central African Republic against Covid-19 had not started. The Ministry of Health has now entrusted Cap Anamur with the task of conducting a vaccination campaign in the region of Bossenbélé.

Two weeks ago, we started vaccinating approximately 2,500 provided doses in our hospital in  Bossembélé.  The population was informed about the vaccination campaign with extensive information activities.

Originally, only 1,500 doses were provided for the district of Bossembélé. Since the demand for vaccination has been so high, 1,000 additional doses were provided.

A total of 1559 women and men were vaccinated in the Cap Anamur hospital. Our top vaccination priority group are persons aged 50 years and above, because the average age in the country is 53 years. During the course of the vaccination campaign we have vaccinated significantly more people below an age of 50 years.

The vaccination campaign was also successfully conducted in our medical station in Boali und Yaloke. 1,195 people were vaccinated there.

Of course, the number of provided vaccine doses seems very small compared to those available in Europe. So far, only 80,000 vaccine doses have been provided to the Central African Republic by the global aid program COVAX. With these doses 1.65 percent of the total population of 4.83 million people can be vaccinated.

Further 500,000 vaccination doses shall be delivered to the country. Unfortunately, it is still unclear when these doses will be available.

As soon as these vaccination doses become available, Cap Anamur will immediately continue the life-saving vaccination campaign in its hospital in Bossembélé.

You can watch a television report on the current vaccination campaign here!

Cap Anamur führt COVID-19-Impfkampagne durch

In der Zentralafrikanischen Republik wurde die Bevölkerung bis vor kurzem noch nicht gegen COVID-19 geimpft. Cap Anamur wurde nun vom Gesundheitsministerium beauftragt, die Koordination einer Impf-Kampagne im Raum Bossembélé durchzuführen.

Vor zwei Wochen haben wir in unserem Krankenhaus in Bossembélé begonnen die etwa 2.500 zur Verfügung gestellten Impfdosen zu verabreichen. Mit groß angelegten Informationsmaßnahmen wurden die Menschen über die Kampagne informiert.

Zunächst waren für den Distrikt Bossembélé nur 1.500 Impfdosen vorgesehen. Der Zuspruch in der Bevölkerung war aber so groß, dass weitere 1.000 Dosen zur Verfügung gestellt wurden.

Im Cap Anamur Krankenhaus wurden insgesamt 1559 Männer und Frauen geimpft. Die Impfpriorität 1 liegt hier bei 50+, da das durchschnittliche Alter im Land bei 53 Jahren liegt. Daher haben wir auch im Laufe der Kampagne deutlich mehr Menschen unter 50 Jahren geimpft.

In unseren Außenposten in Boali und Yaloke haben wir die Kampagne ebenso erfolgreich durchgeführt. Hier konnten wir insgesamt 1.195 Menschen impfen.

Die Zahlen der zur Verfügung stehenden Impfdosen sind gering im Vergleich zu denen in Europa. Der Zentralafrikanischen Republik wurden bisher nur 80.000 Impfdosen aus dem internationalen Hilfsprogramm COVAX zur Verfügung gestellt. Bei einer Gesamtbevölkerung von 4,83 Millionen können damit 1,65 % der Bevölkerung geimpft werden.

Es sollen aber noch weitere 500.000 Impfdosen für das Land geliefert werden, leider ist bisher nicht bekannt, wann dies geschehen wird.

Cap Anamur wird sich dann im Krankenhaus Bossembélé erneut um die Durchführung der dringend notwenigen Impfungen kümmern.

Einen Bericht in ZDF heute zur aktuellen Impfkampagne können Sie hier sehen!