Cap Anamur supports the poorest with food parcels

The economic and political situation in Lebanon has become increasingly catastrophic over the last years. With the rising economic crisis, the ramifications of the Corona pandemic and ultimately since the Beirut explosion, circumstances are aggravating even more. The ones suffering are the population’s poorest and  the 1.2 million Syrian refugees who fight for their life on a daily basis.

Since 2016, Cap Anamur is taking an active part in refugee settlements surrounding Sidon, Lebanon. Our work includes ensuring medical treatment for refugee families with a mobile clinic, because the daily struggle to survive leaves the people with no means for medical interventions, which usually entail costs.

After the outbreak of the Corona pandemic, the conditions under which Syrian refugees live have gotten worse. The possibility of earning money as a day-laborer vanished after stay-at-home orders were enacted. Groceries are unaffordable due to the economic crisis, drugs are scarce goods – the state of supply for poor people is a catastrophe.

Corona measures in our project

Our work is also influenced immensely by the Corona pandemic. In 2020, we had to shut down our mobile clinic entirely for a short period of time during lockdown. In order to adhere to the hygiene measures surrounding the pandemic, we had to lower the maximum number of patients we can provide medical care for on each day to 50. Our patients receive face masks and hand disinfectant when they leave the mobile clinic, so they can protect themselves against the virus.

Food parcels for the poorest families

Right now we are further supporting the poorest families that we treat in our mobile clinic with food parcels. Most of the people that receive our help are single mothers, widows or orphans. A food parcel contains oil, sugar, rice, pasta, salt, tomato sauce and bulgur, sometimes candy for the children.

6€ provide a family with food for an entire week and prevent the worst hunger.
You too can help to fight the hunger of Syrian refugees.

By donating 24€, you can support a Syrian refugee family and enable their supply of food staples for one month.

Cap Anamur hilft den Ärmsten mit Lebensmittelpaketen

Die wirtschaftliche und politische Situation im Libanon wird seit Jahre immer katastrophaler. Mit der zunehmenden Wirtschaftskrise, den Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie und letztendlich seit der Explosion in Beirut, verschärft sich die Lage noch mehr. Leittragende sind die Ärmsten der Bevölkerung und die etwa 1,2 Mio. syrischen Flüchtlinge, die täglich ums Überleben kämpfen.

Seit 2016 ist Cap Anamur im Libanon in den syrischen Flüchtlingssiedlungen im Raum Sidon tätig. Dort gewährleisten wir, unter anderem mit einer mobilen Klinik, die medizinische Versorgung der Flüchtlingsfamilien. Denn der tägliche Überlebenskampf lässt den Menschen keine Mittel für die sonst kostenpflichtigen medizinischen Behandlungen mehr zu.

Seit dem Ausbruch der Corona-Pandemie hat sich die Lebenssituation der syrischen Flüchtlinge noch verschlechtert. Die Ausgangssperren führen dazu, dass die Erwerbsmöglichkeiten als Tagelöhner versiegten. Lebensmittel sind aufgrund der Wirtschaftskrise unerschwinglich geworden und Medikamente sind Mangelware. Die Versorgungslage für arme Menschen ist katastrophal.

Corona-Maßnahmen in unserem Projekt

Auch auf unsere Arbeit hat die Corona-Pandemie einen gravierenden Einfluss. Im vergangenen Jahr mussten wir während der Ausgangssperren die Arbeit unserer mobilen Klinik kurze Zeit ganz einstellen. Um die Hygienemaßnahmen rund um die Pandemie einzuhalten, können wir seit Mitte des letzten Jahres nur noch 50 Patienten am Tag medizinisch versorgen. Unsere Patienten erhalten bei Ihrem Besuch der mobilen Klinik Stoffmasken und Handdesinfektionsmittel um sich vor einer Infektion zu schützen.

Lebensmittelpakete für die ärmsten Familien

Derzeit unterstützen wir die ärmsten Familien, die wir in unserer mobilen Klinik behandeln, auch mit Lebensmittelpaketen. Meist sind es alleinerziehende Frauen, Witwen oder Waisen, denen wir helfen. Ein Lebensmittelpaket umfasst Öl, Zucker, Reis, Nudeln, Salz, Tomatensoße und Bulgur und auch mal Süßigkeiten für die Kinder.

Für 6 Euro können wir so einer Familie für eine Woche Lebensmittel zur Verfügung stellen und den schlimmsten Hunger abwenden.

Helfen auch Sie, den Hunger der syrischen Flüchtlinge zu bekämpfen.

Mit 24 Euro können Sie einer syrischen Flüchtlingsfamilie Grundnahrungsmittel für einen Monat ermöglichen.