the country continues to move to the edge of the abyss

For two weeks now, the situation in Lebanon has been worsening once again – Cap Anamur is helping despite the catastrophic conditions.

Not only since the explosion a year ago in Beirut, the country is fighting against a financial and economic crisis and the prevailing corruption. Currently, inflation is rising faster than ever and many essential goods are no longer affordable for the majority of the population.

For weeks, the supply of gasoline has also become increasingly problematic until last week the situation escalated, because electricity in Lebanon is supplied by gasoline-powered generators. The fuel shortage now caused generators to interrupt their power supply. Thus, since last weekend, electricity has been failing for hours throughout the country.

The consequences of the collapse of the power grid are catastrophic.

There are not enough private power generators to ensure cold chains, for example. So tons of food is spoiling right now, in this already very precarious supply situation. Food is becoming increasingly scarce or is so expensive that hardly anyone can afford it. Vital medicines for the chronically ill have also been unavailable for some time.

Without electricity, hospitals are also unable to maintain their operations. People connected to ventilators or who need important dialysis treatments are at risk of dying.

The collapse of the power grid and the catastrophic supply situation are bringing the country to the brink of a humanitarian disaster.

Cap Anamur continues to provide aid to the poorest in the country

For our project in southern Lebanon , in Sidon, these developments mean that we have to go to our reserves. Until now, we have provided medical care to Syrian refugees in the settlements around Sidon with a mobile clinic. Now we have to coordinate and schedule these missions differently due to fuel shortages.

We continue to be active with the physiotherapy practice, which we use to treat children with physical and mental disabilities, but we have to adapt the transportation of the children to the situation.

We can continue to support the approximately 2,000 Syrian families that we regularly supply with food parcels. Our supply network is so stable that we continue to receive the most important items.

Due to the presence of our project manager Volker Rath, we have been able to assess the developments in the country for some time and have stockpiled some goods.

Volker Rath currently reports on the situation in Lebanon:

“We now have to break into our reserves in order to be able to continue to help. We had built up our storage capacities for medicines, medical consumables, food and gasoline with foresight. Currently, we can no longer get supplies into the isolated country, so we have to draw from these stockpiles. In particular, the absolute lack of gasoline is paralyzing the entire infrastructure. This is not only about transportation but also about power generation. Cold chains are interrupted and necessary, life-sustaining medical equipment is at a standstill. Above all, the supply of water is severely paralyzed. We are saving raw materials wherever we can and concentrating on the absolute essentials in order to continue providing aid to the poorest.”

In order to continue to provide aid to the people of Lebanon, we are also dependent on help.

Das Land bewegt sich weiter an den Rand des Abgrunds

Seit zwei Wochen verschärft sich die Situation im Libanon erneut – Cap Anamur hilft, trotz katastrophaler Zustände.

Nicht erst seit der Explosion vor einem Jahr in Beirut kämpft das Land gegen eine Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise und die vorherrschende Korruption. Aktuell steigt die Inflation so schnell wie noch nie und viele lebensnotwendige Güter sind für den Großteil der Bevölkerung nicht mehr finanzierbar.

Seit Wochen wird auch die Versorgung mit Benzin immer problematischer und letzte Woche eskalierte die Situation. Denn die Stromversorgung im Libanon findet über benzinbetriebene Generatoren statt. Die Treibstoffknappheit führte nun dazu, dass diese Generatoren nicht mehr in der Lage waren die Stromversorgung zu gewährleisten. So fällt seit dem vergangenen Wochenende der Strom im ganzen Land für Stunden aus.

Die Konsequenzen des Zusammenbruchs des Stromnetzes sind katastrophal

Es gibt nicht genug private Stromgeneratoren um beispielsweise Kühlketten zu gewährleisten. So verderben gerade Tonnen von Lebensmittel. Und das bei der bereits sehr prekären Versorgungslage. Denn Lebensmittel werden immer knapper oder sind so teuer, dass sie sich kaum jemand leisten kann. Auch lebenswichtige Medikamente für chronisch kranke Menschen sind seit längerem nicht mehr zu bekommen.

Ohne Strom können auch die Krankenhäuser ihren Betrieb nicht aufrechterhalten. Menschen, die an Beatmungsgeräte angeschlossen sind oder die wichtige Dialyse-Behandlungen benötigen, drohen zu sterben.

Der Zusammenbruch des Stromnetzes und die katastrophale Versorgungslage führen das Land an den Rand einer humanitären Katastrophe.

Cap Anamur gewährleistet auch weiterhin Hilfe für die Ärmsten des Landes

Für unser Projekt im Südlibanon – in Sidon – bedeuten diese Entwicklungen, dass wir an unsere Reserven gehen müssen. Bisher haben wir mit einer mobilen Klinik die syrischen Flüchtlinge in den Siedlungen rund um Sidon medizinisch versorgt. Nun müssen wir diese Einsätze aufgrund des knappen Treibstoffs anders koordinieren und einteilen.

Mit der Physiotherapie-Praxis, mit der wir Kinder mit körperlichen und geistigen Behinderungen behandeln, sind wir auch weiterhin aktiv tätig, müssen jedoch die Transporte der Kinder der Situation anpassen.

Die etwa 2.000 syrischen Familien, die wir regelmäßig mit Lebensmittelpaketen versorgen, können wir auch weiterhin unterstützen. Unser Versorgungsnetzwerk ist so stabil, dass wir die wichtigsten Nahrungsmittel weiterhin erhalten.

Durch die Anwesenheit unseres Projektleiters Volker Rath konnten wir schon seit längerem die Entwicklungen im Lande einschätzen und haben einige Güter bevorratet.

Volker Rath berichtet aktuell von der Situation im Libanon:

„Wir müssen jetzt unsere Reserven anbrechen um auch weiterhin helfen zu können. Wir hatten vorausschauend unsere Lagerkapazitäten für Medikamente, medizinische Verbrauchsgüter, Lebensmittel und Benzin gebildet. Aktuell bekommen wir keinen Nachschub mehr in das isolierte Land, daher müssen wir uns aus diesen Lagerbeständen versorgen.

Insbesondere der absolute Mangel an Benzin lähmt die gesamte Infrastruktur. Hier geht es nicht nur um Transporte sondern auch um Stromerzeugung. Kühlketten sind unterbrochen und notwendige, lebenserhaltende medizinische Apparate stehen still. Vor allem die Versorgung mit Wasser ist stak gelähmt. Wir sparen Rohstoffe wo wir nur können und konzentrieren uns auf das absolut Nötigste, um die Hilfe für die Ärmsten weiterhin zu gewährleisten“.

Um auch weiterhin für die Menschen im Libanon Hilfe leisten zu können, sind wir auch auf Hilfe angewiesen.