“The people in the Nuba Mountains are marked by war”

A Report be the longtime Cap Anamur project staff member Helene Prögler from Sudan.

Helene Prögler had her first mission for Cap Anamur already in 1989 in Southern Sudan. Even then, the bitter war between the government and the rebel groups was already raging in Sudan and still hasn’t been resolved so far.

Since 2012, the trained nurse has been working almost continuously for Cap Anamur. After another year in Sudan, where we have built a hospital in the Nuba Mountains and still operate it until now, Helene Prögler left for Sierra Leone in 2014.

At that time, Ebola was rampant in the West African country and Cap Anamur was the last aid organization left in the country. Back then, Helene Prögler supported the work in the only children’s hospital Ola During Childrens Hospital in the capital Freetown. Many children were hospitalized with symptoms at that time. The 21 beds in the isolation ward, which was built extra for the Ebola epidemic, were non-stop occupied. However, the medical staff was only allowed to enter this isolation ward in protective suits.

And in this situation the many years of experience of the Essen intensive care nurse were very valuable. She supervised the putting on and taking off of the protective clothing – the most important protective measure for the Cap Anamur employees on site (News from 21.11.2014).

Since the beginning of 2019, she has been continuously working in Sudan. There she also experienced the beginning of the Corona Pandemic in March of this year. Initially, it was assumed that the pandemic would reach devastating proportions on the African continent, but during the last few months it has become clear that the number of infections was relatively low. This was certainly due to the lack of testing capacity, but also to the fact that the population is on average much younger than in Europe.

Helene Prögler reports in a short interview how she experienced Corona in our hospital in the Nuba Mountains:

 How did you and the team in Sudan experience the outbreak of Corona and what measures did you take?

“In the Nuba Mountains, there is no reliable information on the number of infections since the outbreak of the pandemic. This is because there is no capacity for testing and therefore, it cannot take place. For this reason, the staff at Cap Anamur initially proceeded in such a way that hygiene stations were set up in front of the medical facilities. In addition, both local staff and patients were instructed on how to protect themselves from the corona virus. An isolation ward was built next to the clinic in Lwere to accommodate people with severe symptoms”.

Is it possible to implement measures such as hygiene and distance rules in the Nuba Mountains?

 “The living conditions of the Nuba cannot be compared with European ones. They have to go on an arduous journey to get water, food or firewood everyday – staying at home is not possible for them. They live in the smallest of spaces and keeping a distance is unthinkable for them. In addition, there is a salutation ritual based on close physical contact. For the Nuba it is difficult to imagine not to act out this ritual. In addition, Water is one of the most valuable resources. The procurement of water is already so difficult for the Nuba that they would not waste this precious commodity for what they consider as unnecessary hygiene measures. The people cannot afford soap either. Only the children have increasingly accepted and implemented the hygiene measures provided by Cap Anamur. For them it was a pleasure to be allowed to wash their hands without restrictions.”

What other peculiarities around the Corona pandemic have you experienced?

“We had to realize that the people in the Nuba Mountains were not able to envisage anything when hearing about a virus. They know about malaria, which is transmitted by mosquitoes and therefore, one should avoid this mosquito. But the corona virus is ‘invisible’ to them, they can neither see nor feel it. The imagination of the people is shaped by war: If you hear a plane, the people know that they have to flee to the mountains for protection in order to survive. The virus, on the other hand, is not within their grasp, so they show less acceptance of the measures taken against the virus.”

„Die Menschen in den Nuba Bergen sind geprägt vom Krieg“

Ein Bericht der langjährigen Cap Anamur Projektmitarbeiterin Helene Prögler aus dem Sudan.

Helene Prögler hatte ihren ersten Einsatz für Cap Anamur bereits 1989 im Südsudan. Auch damals herrschte im Sudan schon der erbitterte Krieg zwischen der Regierung und den Rebellengruppen, der bis heute nicht beigelegt ist.

Seit 2012 ist die gelernte Krankenschwester nun fast durchgängig für Cap Anamur im Einsatz gewesen. Nach einem weiteren Jahr im Sudan, wo wir mittlerweile ein Krankenhaus in den Nuba Bergen gebaut haben und bis heute betreiben, ging es für Helene Prögler 2014 nach Sierra Leone.

Zu dieser Zeit grassierte Ebola im westafrikanischen Land und Cap Anamur war als letzte Hilfsorganisation im Land verblieben. Helene Prögler unterstützte damals die Arbeit im einzigen Kinderkrankenhaus Ola During Childrens Hospital in der Hauptstadt Freetown. Viele Kinder wurden zu dieser Zeit mit Symptomen ins Krankenhaus eingeliefert. Durchgehend waren die 21 Betten der eigens für die Ebola-Epidemie errichteten Isolierstation belegt. Die medizinischen Mitarbeiter konnten diese Isolierstation aber nur in Schutzanzügen betreten.

Und hier war die langjährige Erfahrung der Essener Intensiv-Krankenschwester sehr wertvoll. Sie überwachte das An- und Ausziehen der Schutzkleidung – der wichtigsten Schutzmaßnahme für die Cap Anamur Mitarbeiter vor Ort (News vom 21.11.2014).

Seit Anfang 2019 war sie dann durchgehend im Sudan tätig. Hier hat sie im März diesen Jahres auch den Beginn der Corona Pandemie erlebt. Hatte man anfangs noch angenommen, dass die Pandemie auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent verheerende Ausmaße annehmen würde, hat sich im Laufe der letzten Monate gezeigt, dass die Infektionszahlen relativ gering waren. Dies lag sicherlich an den fehlenden Testkapazitäten aber auch an einer durchschnittlich viel jüngeren Bevölkerung als in Europa.

Helene Prögler berichtet in einem kurzen Interview, wie sie Corona in unserem Krankenhaus in den Nuba Bergen erlebt hat:

Wie hast Du und das Team im Sudan den Ausbruch von Corona erlebt und welche Maßnahmen habt ihr ergriffen?

„In den Nuba-Bergen gibt es keine verlässlichen Angaben, wie hoch die Infektionszahlen seit Ausbruch der Pandemie sind. Das liegt daran, dass es keine Kapazitäten für Tests gibt und diese nicht durchgeführt werden können. Daher sind die Mitarbeiter von Cap Anamur zunächst so vorgegangen, dass vor den Krankeneinrichtungen Hygienestationen errichtet wurden. Außerdem wurde sowohl das einheimische Personal als auch die Patienten aufgeklärt, wie man sich vor dem Corona-Virus schützen kann. Neben der Klinik in Lwere wurde eine Isolierstation errichtet, um Menschen mit schweren Symptomen unterbringen zu können.“

Lassen sich in den Nuba Bergen überhaupt Maßnahmen, wie Hygiene-  und Abstandsregeln umsetzen?

„Die Lebensumstände der Nuba sind nicht mit europäischen zu vergleichen. Sie müssen sich täglich auf den beschwerlichen Weg machen, um Wasser, Essen oder Feuerholz zu bekommen – zu Hause bleiben ist für sie nicht möglich. Sie leben auf engstem Raum und Abstand halten ist für sie undenkbar. Noch dazu gibt es ein Begrüßungsrituale, das auf einem engen Körperkontakt beruht. Diese Begrüßungen zu unterlassen ist für die Nuba schwer vorstellbar. Wasser ist zudem eines der wertvollsten Ressourcen. Die Beschaffung von Wasser ist für die Nuba schon so beschwerlich, dass sie dieses kostbare Gut nicht, für aus ihrer Sicht unnötigen Hygienemaßnahmen, verschwenden würden. Auch Seife können sich die Menschen gar nicht leisten. Einzig die Kinder haben die Hygienemaßnahmen, die von Cap Anamur bereitgestellt wurden, verstärkt angenommen und umgesetzt. Für sie war es eine Freude uneingeschränkt ihre Hände waschen zu dürfen.“

Welche weiteren Besonderheiten rund um die Corona-Pandemie habt ihr erlebt?

„Wir mussten feststellen, dass sich die Menschen in den Nuba Bergen unter einem Virus nichts vorstellen können. Sie kennen die Malaria, die von Moskitos übertragen werden und man daher diese Stechmücke meiden soll. Aber der Corona-Virus ist für sie ‚unsichtbar‘, sie können ihn weder sehen noch fühlen. Die Vorstellungskraft der Menschen ist vom Krieg geprägt: Wenn man ein Flugzeug hört, dann wissen die Menschen das sie zum Schutz in die Berge fliehen müssen um zu überleben. Das Virus hingegen ist für sie nicht greifbar, daher zeigen sie eine geringere Akzeptanz für die Maßnahmen gegen das Virus.“