Car Loading Haytham and Volker

Beirut: A new catastrophe requires our commitment

A WORSHIPFUL EXPLOSION ON TUESDAY, AUGUST 4, IN THE PORT OF BEIRUT HAS SO FAR CAUSED 135 DEATHS AND MORE THAN 5,000 INJURIES.

The images and videos from Beirut that reach us are shocking and the destructive power of the explosion is almost tangible on these films. Our team from Cap Anamur / Deutsche Not-Ärzte e.V. is about 50 km away from Beirut, but even here the effects of the explosion were still noticeable – even here the windows were shaking. Project coordinator Volker Rath made his way directly to Beirut. He describes a destruction that he has rarely seen after disasters. “The tragedy of the picture is almost unbeatable,” he reports. The quarter around the harbour has been destroyed. The detonation caused considerable damage even in more remote districts.

All emergency rooms and operating rooms are overcrowded due to the many injured. Acute emergency treatment was provided free of charge, including by private clinics. Since one hospital had to be evacuated, many patients were distributed to other houses. In the crisis, we stand together!

All apartments near the port and in the surrounding urban area are now uninhabitable – suddenly more than 250,00 people have been made homeless. In addition, the gigantic explosion has completely destroyed large food warehouses. Without help, many people in Lebanon will have to starve.

Lebanon was already on the verge of collapse before this indescribable catastrophe. There are hardly any medicines in the country and no medical care for the population. The currency loses value daily, everything becomes more expensive: for many food, clothes and medicine are not affordable. 2 million refugees from Syria live under the worst conditions. For many needy people in Lebanon the situation will now become even worse.

Aufräumarbeiten, Beirut

Volker Rath: “We brought everything necessary from our warehouse to Beirut, plus everything that we could somehow obtain at short notice. Dressing material, protective masks, tetanus vaccines, disinfectants, suture material, infusions and anaesthetics, because unfortunately some warehouses with medical supplies were also destroyed in the explosion”.

Volker Rath has been working with Cap Anamur for almost 20 years in crisis regions in Indonesia, Pakistan, the Philippines, Somalia, Congo, the Central African Republic and Lebanon.

Car Loading Haytham and Volker

Beirut: Eine erneute Katastrophe bedarf unseres Einsatzes

Eine verehrende Explosion am Dienstag, den 04. August, im Hafen von Beirut, hat bisher 135 Todesopfer und mehr als 5.000 Verletzte zur Folge.

Die Bilder und Videos aus Beirut, die uns erreichen, sind schockierend und die zerstörerische Kraft der Explosion ist auf diesen Filmen nahezu spürbar. Unser Team von Cap Anamur / Deutsche Not-Ärzte e.V. ist rund 50 km von Beirut entfernt, aber auch hier waren die Auswirkungen der Explosion noch spürbar – selbst hier wackelten die Fenster. Projektkoordinator Volker Rath hat sich direkt auf den Weg nach Beirut gemacht. Er schildert eine Zerstörung, wie er sie nur ganz selten nach Katastrophen gesehen hat. „Das Bild ist an Tragik fast nicht zu überbieten“ berichtet er. Das Viertel rund um den Hafen ist zerstört worden. Die Detonation hat auch in weiter entlegenen Stadtteilen für erhebliche Schäden gesorgt.

Alle Notaufnahmen und OPs sind aufgrund der vielen Verletzten überfüllt. Die akuten Notbehandlungen wurden, u.a von Privatkliniken, kostenfrei durchgeführt. Da ein Krankenhaus evakuiert werden musste, wurden viele Patienten auf andere Häuser verteilt. In der Krise steht man zusammen!

Alle Wohnungen in Hafennähe und im umliegenden Stadtgebiet sind nun unbewohnbar – auf einen Schlag sind mehr als 250.00 Menschen obdachlos geworden. Darüber hinaus wurden bei der gigantischen Explosion große Nahrungsmittellager völlig zerstört, ohne Hilfe werden viele Menschen im Libanon hungern müssen.

Libanon stand schon vor dieser unbeschreiblichen Katastrophe kurz vor dem Kollaps. Es gibt kaum Medikamente im Land und keine medizinische Versorgung für die Bevölkerung. Die Währung verliert täglich an Wert, alles wird teurer: Nahrung, Kleidung, Medizin sind für viele nicht bezahlbar. 2 Mio. Flüchtlinge aus Syrien leben unter schlimmsten Bedingungen. Für viele Notleidende im Libanon wird sich die Lage nun weiter zuspitzen.

Aufräumarbeiten, Beirut
Aufräumarbeiten, Beirut

Volker Rath: „Wir haben alles Nötige aus unserem Lager und zusätzlich alles, was wir nur irgendwie kurzfristig besorgen konnten nach Beirut gebracht. Verbandsmaterial, Schutzmasken, Tetanus Impfstoffe, Desinfektionsmittel, Nahtmaterial, Infusionen und Anästhesiemittel, denn leider sind bei der Explosion auch einige Lager mit medizinischem Bedarf vernichtet worden“.

Volker Rath ist seit fast 20 Jahren mit Cap Anamur in Krisenregionen im Einsatz  u. a. in Indonesien, Pakistan, Philippinen, , Somalia, Kongo, der zentralafrikanischen Republik und dem Libanon.