Official Launch: Our New Street Kids Project in Freetown

Cap Anamur established a contact point for street children in Freetown, with a team of local and German social workers and in cooperation with the Ministry of Social Welfare of Sierra Leone. Here, the children and young people receive a warm meal and a place to sleep. The social workers support them in their plans for the future by mediating between the children and their families and helping with their reintegration into school.

Our employees quickly found a suitable house. Our new colleague, 30-year-old social worker Ruth Zemedebrhan, moved from Stuttgart to the capital of Sierra Leone in July and coordinates the work on site. Previously, she had worked in Germany as a street worker. During the first tours with her three local colleagues in August, they already informed the first youths about the new hostel. Only a few days later the first teenagers aged between 10 and 13 years came. The local social workers are now trying to locate the families of the children.

-> Help us with a donation to build up the street children project:  We finance the school fees of one child for a whole year with 50 Euros.

Background information about Sierra Leone

The West African country is the size of Bavaria and has about six million inhabitants. The civil war, which was settled in 2002, cost hundreds of thousands of people their lives, and many still suffer traumatisation from the atrocities of war. Despite the country’s wealth of resources, almost three quarters of the Sierra Leoneans live below the poverty line – on the Human Development Index the country ranks in the last eight of the 187 countries evaluated. The United Nations estimates that around 2,000 children live on the streets of Freetown.

Eröffnung: Unser neues Straßenkinderprojekt in Freetown

Cap Anamur hat eine Anlaufstelle für Straßenkinder in Freetown eingerichtet, mit einem Team aus lokalen und deutschen Sozialarbeitern und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem sierra-leonischen Ministerium für Sozialfürsorge. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen erhalten hier eine warme Mahlzeit und einen Schlafplatz. Die Sozialarbeiter unterstützen sie in ihren Zukunftsplänen, indem sie zwischen den Kindern und ihren Familien vermitteln und bei der Wiedereingliederung in die Schule helfen.

Rasch haben unsere Mitarbeiter ein geeignetes Haus gefunden. Unsere neue Kollegin, die 30jährige Sozialarbeiterin Ruth Zemedebrhan ist bereits im Juli von Stuttgart in die Hauptstadt von Sierra Leone gezogen und koordiniert die Arbeit vor Ort. Zuvor hatte sie in Deutschland als Streetworkerin gearbeitet. Während der ersten Touren mit ihren drei einheimischen Kollegen im August haben sie bereits die ersten Jugendlichen über die neue Herberge informiert. Nur wenige Tage später kamen die ersten Jugendlichen im Alter zwischen zehn und 13 Jahren. Die einheimischen Sozialarbeiter versuchen nun, die Familien der Kinder ausfindig zu machen.

-> Helfen Sie uns mit einer Spende beim Aufbau des Straßenkinderprojekts: Mit 50 Euro finanzieren wir einem Kind das Schulgeld für ein ganzes Jahr.

Hintergrundinformation zu Sierra Leone

Das westafrikanische Land in der Größe Bayerns hat etwa sechs Millionen Einwohner. Der 2002 beigelegte Bürgerkrieg hat hunderttausende Menschen das Leben gekostet, viele leiden auch heute noch unter der Traumatisierung durch die Gräueltaten des Krieges. Trotz des Ressourcenreichtums im Land leben fast drei Viertel der Sierra Leoner unterhalb der Armutsgrenze – auf dem Human Development Index rangiert das Land auf den letzten acht von 187 bewerteten Ländern. Laut Schätzungen der Vereinten Nationen leben rund 2.000 Kinder auf den Straßen Freetowns.