Opening of our new Surgical Ward

After a construction period of five months the work on the new surgical ward of the hospital in Fandriana was completed in June. Subsequently, the hospital laboratory, the sonography unit and the pharmacy were also reconstructed, refurbished, and supplied with the necessary equipment. Finally, in July a big celebration was held due to the official opening of the new surgical ward. A great number of people from the neighbouring villages came by and were happy to see, that from now on they would have access to profound medical healthcare.  Thus far, for every surgical intervention they had to travel about 50 km to Ambositra. In cases of emergency and without a car this is a long and sometimes even impossible journey – especially when the patients have already travelled up to 60 km just to reach Fandriana.

Also Politicians of the National Government of Antananarivo came to the celebrations, as well as important persons from Ambositra and the local authorities of the District of Fandriana. In numerous speeches people thanked the local Cap-Anamur-Teams and particularly the donors in Germany for their commitment and dedication. Without their initiative the expansion of the hospital would not have been possible.

On the same day the first caesarean section was performed in the new surgical ward. It was 30 years old Miarisoa Lilia from Fandriana who came to our hospital in labour-pains for delivery of her first child. „With time it became obvious that although she had periodic constrictions, the birth process was not substantially progressing“, remembers Cap-Anamur physician Friederike Hunstig. “We made an emergency sonography, and everything seemed well with regard to the child. To minimize any danger to the baby caused by the stagnation of the birth process it was decided that a caesarean section would be the safest option.” At once, the surgical team started the preparations and an epidural anaesthesia was given to the mother. Lala, an experienced senior nurse, took over primary care of baby girl Kanto Miangola in the operating room directly after delivery. The whole procedure went without any complication. Mother and daughter were doing fine afterwards and could return home a few days later.

By building the surgical ward, the status of medical care of the whole institution has been enhanced as from now on broad treatment options are available. We are glad that thereby we were able to contribute to the improvement of the medical healthcare for about 260.000 people in the District of Fandriana.

Eröffnung unserer neuen Chirurgie

Nach rund fünf Monaten Bauzeit wurden die Arbeiten an der neuen chirurgischen Abteilung des Krankenhauses in Fandriana im Juni abgeschlossen. Im Anschluss wurden auch das Labor, die Ultraschallstation und die Apotheke umgebaut, renoviert und mit dem erforderlichen Equipment ausgestattet. Im Juli war es dann soweit: Zur offiziellen Eröffnung der chirurgischen Abteilung wurde ein großes Fest veranstaltet. Die Menschen der umliegenden Dörfer kamen in Scharen und freuten sich, dass in ihrer Region ab jetzt eine umfassende medizinische Versorgung möglich ist. Zuvor mussten sie für alle operativen Eingriffe rund 50 Kilometer nach Ambositra fahren. In akuten Situationen und ohne Auto eine lange und nicht immer zu bewerkstelligende Reise – zumal die Patienten oft schon bis zu 60 Kilometer zurückgelegt haben, um bis nach Fandriana zu kommen.

Zu den Feierlichkeiten reisten auch Politiker der nationalen Regierung aus Antananarivo an, sowie bedeutende Persönlichkeiten aus Ambositra und die lokalen Autoritäten des Distriktes Fandriana. In zahlreichen Reden wurde dem Engagement des Cap-Anamur-Teams vor Ort und vor allem den Spendern in Deutschland gedankt, ohne deren Initiative dieser Ausbau nicht möglich gewesen wäre.

Noch an diesem Tag fand der erste Kaiserschnitt in dem neuen OP statt. Es war die 30 Jahre alte Miarisoa Lilia aus Fandriana, die mit Wehen zur Entbindung ihres ersten Kindes in unser Krankenhaus kam. „Nach und nach stellte sich heraus, dass trotz Wehen der Geburtsvorgang keine richtigen Fortschritte macht“, erinnert sich die Cap-Anamur-Ärztin Friederike Hunstig. „Wir haben sie notfallmäßig mit Ultraschall untersucht, doch es schien alles in Ordnung, was das Kind betraf. Um das Baby durch den Geburtsstillstand nicht weiter zu gefährden, war ein Kaiserschnitt die sicherste Lösung.“ Das chirurgische Team begann umgehend mit den entsprechenden Vorbereitungen und leitete die Spinalanästhesie ein. Die erfahrene Oberschwester Lala übernahm sofort nach der Entbindung noch im OP die Erstversorgung der kleinen Kanto Miangola. Der Eingriff verlief ohne Komplikationen. Mutter und Tochter haben den Eingriff sehr gut überstanden und konnten schon nach wenigen Tagen nach Hause entlassen werden.

Durch den Bau des Operationsgebäudes wurde die Einrichtung auf einen höheren medizinischen Status gehoben, nun sind umfassende Behandlungsoptionen möglich. Wir freuen uns, dass wir damit einen Beitrag für die Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung der rund 260.000 Menschen im Distrikt Fandriana leisten konnten.