Europe is failing in Syria

With the beginning of the civil war in 2011, Cap Anamur began supporting the population in Syria, which was being regularly bombarded with no restraint. At a certain point, with the conflict intensifying and violence escalating, we decided to suspend our project in Syria in order to ensure our employees’ security, and resumed support for the Syrian population in the refugee camps in Jordan and Lebanon. Our wish to help directly inside Syria, however, remained. That is why one of our project coordinators recently took the risk and spent ten days inside the country from which most people flee. The journey resulted more complicated than initially foreseen. Only last night did this Cap Anamur staff member manage to safely leave the country. His report is alarming.

“People are behaving like ants. In panic and with no clear destination they flee from one place to another, waiting expectantly alongside the Israeli border, then again alongside the Jordanian border, clueless as to where to go next. Their faces are marked by evident fear for their lives”. This is the first account by our project coordinator after regaining Jordanian territory and contacting our office in Cologne. He tells of around 200,000 people seeking refuge at the Jordanian border alone, while many more are crossing the country. “Living conditions are catastrophic. Electricity is available via small solar appliances at best, water and food supplies are scarce and plastic sheeting or empty buildings serve as accommodation. And don’t even get me started on the sanitary conditions”, he says.

The most recent military offensive in the Daraa region, in the country’s south, has drastically worsened the situation for civilians. While Europe’s attention is focussed on the football world cup in Russia, that country’s troops are ruthlessly bombarding both rebels and civilians in Daraa. Over a quarter of a million people, that previously were not considering leaving their homes, are now on the run. Since neither Israel nor Jordan are willing to open their borders, these people are trapped inside their own country.

Equally disappointing is the lack of an outcry in Europe, also amongst German political parties. While all parties have unanimously vowed to fight the root causes leading to mass flight, Syrians who had decided not to leave their country and are now trapped inside it now receive neither attention nor support. Only last June did German chancellor Merkel, during a visit to a refugee camp in Jordan, stress that a return home of Syrian refugees was in everybody’s interest, adding, “these have to, however, be safe conditions to which a return can be considered”. This possibility now seems extremely remote.

Cap Anamur is currently evaluating how displaced Syrians might be supported from either Jordan or Israel. The urgently needed delivery of life-saving medicine seems currently not feasible, since medical personnel and health structures that cooperate with foreign NGOs are being accused by Assad’s regime of collaboration with the opposition. For us, however, turning a blind eye, as political parties in Germany are currently doing, is not an option.

>> Get involved and support the civilian population!

Europa versagt in Syrien

Mit Beginn des Bürgerkrieges 2011 engagierte sich Cap Anamur für die regelmäßig rücksichtslos bombardierte Bevölkerung in Syrien. Doch mit Verschärfung des Konfliktes und zunehmender Gewalt beschlossen wir unser Projekt in Syrien, zur Sicherheit unserer eigenen Mitarbeiter, abzubrechen und unsere Hilfe für die syrische Bevölkerung in den Flüchtlingslagern in Jordanien und im Libanon fortzusetzen. Doch der Wunsch wieder direkt in Syrien zu helfen, blieb. Daher nahm einer unserer Projektkoordinatoren nun das Risiko auf sich und verbrachte zehn Tage in dem Land, aus dem seit Jahren die meisten Menschen fliehen. Doch die Reise gestaltete sich schwieriger als angenommen. Erst letzte Nacht gelang dem Cap Anamur-Mitarbeiter die sichere Ausreise. Sein Bericht ist erschreckend.

„Die Menschen verhalten sich wie Ameisen. Panisch und planlos fliehen sie von einem Ort zum anderen, warten mal vor der israelischen und mal vor der jordanischen Grenze und wissen nicht weiter. Die Todesangst steht ihnen ins Gesicht geschrieben“, lautet das erste Fazit, nachdem unser Projektkoordinator wieder jordanischen Boden betreten und unser Büro in Köln verständigt hat. Er geht von fast 200.000 Menschen aus, die alleine vor der jordanischen Grenze Schutz gesucht haben, weitaus mehr ziehen weiterhin durchs Land. „Die Lebensbedingungen dieser Menschen sind katastrophal. Strom bekommen sie im besten Fall über ein kleines Solarladegerät, Wasser und Lebensmittel sind knapp und als Unterkunft müssen Planen oder leer stehende Wohnhäuser dienen. Von den hygienischen Bedingungen will ich erst gar nicht anfangen“, so der Cap Anamur-Projektkoordinator.

Gefangen im eigenen Land

Die neuste Militäroffensive in der Region Daraa im Süden des Landes hat die Situation für die Zivilbevölkerung erneut drastisch verschlechtert. Während Europa gespannt die Fußballweltmeisterschaft in Russland verfolgt, bombardieren russische Truppen rücksichtslos gleichermaßen Rebellen wie Zivilbevölkerung in Daraa. Über eine Viertelmillionen Menschen, die vorher nicht aus ihrer Heimat hatten fliehen wollen, sind nun doch auf der Flucht. Da weder Israel noch Jordanien ihre Grenzen öffnen wollen, sind diese Menschen gefangen im eigenen Land.

Enttäuschend ist auch der fehlende Aufschrei Europas und der deutschen Parteien. Während sich einmütig alle Parteien für die Bekämpfung von Fluchtursachen ausgesprochen haben, erfahren nun die Syrer, die sich entschlossen haben nicht aus dem Land zu fliehen und nun in diesem festsitzen, weder Aufmerksamkeit noch Unterstützung. Erst im Juni betonte Bundeskanzlerin Merkel bei ihrem Besuch im Flüchtlingslager in Jordanien, an einer Rückkehr der syrischen Flüchtlinge sei allen gelegen, „aber es müssen sichere Bedingungen sein, wenn eine Rückkehr in Betracht gezogen werden soll“. Diese Möglichkeit scheint nun ganz weit weg gerückt zu sein.

Hilfe ist schwierig

Cap Anamur untersucht inzwischen, wie den syrischen Binnenflüchtlingen auch von Jordanien oder von Israel aus geholfen werden kann. Die dringend nötige Lieferung von lebenswichtigen Medikamenten scheint aktuell unmöglich, da medizinischem Personal und Gesundheitsposten, die mit ausländischen NGOs kooperieren, von Assad regelmäßig Kollaboration vorgeworfen wird. Doch ein wegsehen, wie es aktuell die Parteien in Deutschland machen, kommt für uns nicht in Frage.

>> Jetzt aktiv werden und der Zivilbevölkerung in Syrien helfen!