Foundation stone laid for new school in Bowesse

Cap Anamur already completed a school construction project in the Central African Republic last year. Last week, another new construction of an elementary school was started.

The new elementary school will be built in the Bossembélé district, where Cap Anamur also operates the hospital. The village of Bowesse 2 is about a 1.5 hour drive from our clinic location. Currently, about 1,332 people live in the small village.

The previous school is completely dilapidated and actually consists only of a wooden frame without a roof. Therefore, the approximately 580 students have been housed in a temporary school for a long time. The two village churches are available as a temporary solution. However, the boys and girls do not even have enough seats here and often have to follow the lessons standing up. Before each class, they have to bring their blackboard to the temporary school themselves.

 

Unfortunately, there are no government funds available for the renovation of the village school. Therefore, the mayor of Bowesse 2, together with the village community, approached Cap Anamur’s project manager and asked for support.

Marius Akpe, who has been coordinating all projects in the Central African Republic for Cap Anamur since 2014, visited the dilapidated school and evaluated a future construction project.

We were able to win over the Fly & Help Foundation for the new construction of the school and were able to start the planning together with local craftsmen. We make sure that as much of the workforce and construction material as possible comes from the region and local craftsmen make furniture, for example. In this way, we create a high level of identification of the population with the construction project.

The foundation stone for the new building was laid

Last week, we laid the foundation stone together with the village community, the mayor and representatives of the municipality. The construction work will now proceed rapidly and a completion of the new elementary school is planned for the end of September.

Then the girls and boys will have a safe, spacious and well-equipped place to learn.

Grundsteinlegung für neue Schule in Bowesse

Bereits im vergangenen Jahr hat Cap Anamur ein Schulbauprojekt in der Zentralafrikanischen Republik abgeschlossen. Letzte Woche wurde ein weiterer Neubau einer Grundschule gestartet.

Die neue Grundschule wird im Bezirk Bossembélé, in dem Cap Anamur auch das Krankenhaus betreibt, errichtet. Das Dorf Bowesse 2 liegt etwa 1,5 Autostunden von unserem Klinik-Standort entfernt. Derzeit leben etwa 1.332 Menschen in dem kleinen Dorf.

Die bisherige Schule ist völlig baufällig und besteht eigentlich nur noch aus einem Holzgerippe ohne Dach. Daher sind die etwa 580 SchülerInnen schon seit langem in einer provisorischen Schule untergebracht. Die beiden Dorfkirchen stehen als Übergangslösung zur Verfügung. Jedoch haben die Jungen und Mädchen hier noch nicht einmal genug Sitzmöglichkeiten und müssen oft stehend dem Unterricht folgen. Ihre Tafel müssen sie vor jedem Unterricht selbst in die Übergangsschule bringen.

 

Für die Sanierung der Dorfschule stehen keine Regierungsgelder zur Verfügung, daher hat sich der Bürgermeister von Bowesse 2, gemeinsam mit der Dorf-Community, an den Projektleiter von Cap Anamur gewendet und um Unterstützung gebeten.

Marius Akpe, der seit 2014 für Cap Anamur alle Projekte in der Zentralafrikanischen Republik koordiniert, hat die baufällige Schule besucht und ein zukünftiges Bauprojekt evaluiert.

Für den Neubau der Schule konnten wir die Stiftung Fly & Help gewinnen und konnten gemeinsam mit lokalen Handwerken die Planung beginnen. Dabei achten wir darauf, dass so viel wie möglich der Arbeitskräfte aus der Region stammen, Baumaterial regional bezogen wird und örtliche Handwerker beispielsweise Möbel erstellen. So schaffen wir eine hohe Identifikation der Bevölkerung mit dem Bauprojekt.

Der Grundstein für den Neubau wurde gelegt

Vergangene Woche haben wir nun gemeinsam mit der Dorf-Community, dem Bürgermeister und VertreterInnen der Gemeinde die Grundsteinlegung begangen. Die Bauarbeiten werden nun zügig vorangehen und eine Fertigstellung der neuen Grundschule ist für Ende September geplant.

Dann werden die Mädchen und Jungen einen sicheren, geräumigen und gut ausgestatteten Ort zum Lernen erhalten.