Health Post Opened

Once established as a First Aid – project in Somaliland, a state in northwestern Somalia currently experiencing a dry-season, meanwhile developed long-lasting and sustainable structures. After a fast supply of water and food to the community, we furthermore took over important functions at the Hospital of Caynabo in order to secure and maintain medical services. We enlarged the hospital’s intensive-care unit, educated its medical personnel and secured its inventory of live-saving pharmaceuticals.

With our Mobile Clinic, we started to supply medical services to isolated villages in the surroundings to provide medical care to those who are too poor or whose illness is too grave as to allow them to make it all the way to Caynabo. The mobile clinic is in use 6 days a week and serves, dependent on the locations, up to 2-3 villages a day.

We broadened our medical network in the rather rural area in northern Somalia by opening our Health Post in War Idaad, a small village in the north-west of Caynabo. Its local population is now able to rely on medication from a small newly-established pharmacy, and on a well-educated medical staff trained by us.

The dry-season in Africa is a tremendous challenge for above all, its rural communities. To alleviate the heavy climatic impact on the population we in 2017 began to supply food and water to villages in northern Somalia. A crucial factor is that only 32% of Somalia’s population have access to clean drinking water. Notwithstanding the improvement of the rainy season – conditions in the last years the suffering experienced by the population is remarkable and immense.

Health Post eröffnet

Unser als Nothilfe begonnenes Projekt im von der Dürre geplagten Somaliland, hat inzwischen langfristige und nachhaltige Strukturen bekommen. Nach einer schnellen Versorgung der Bevölkerung mit Wasser und Lebensmitteln, übernahmen wir auch im Krankenhaus in Caynabo wichtige Aufgaben, um die medizinische Versorgung vor Ort auszubauen und zu sichern. So erweiterten wir dort die Intensivstation, bildeten das medizinische Personal fort und organisierten für die Bevölkerung lebensnotwendige Medikamente.

Mit einer Mobilen Klinik begannen wir auch die abgelegenen Dörfer medizinisches zu versorgen und uns um die Menschen zu kümmern, die zu krank oder zu arm für den Weg nach Caynabo waren. Die Mobile Klinik ist an sechs Tagen in der Woche im Einsatz und fährt, je nach Lage, ein oder zwei Dörfer am Tag an.

Mit der Eröffnung unseres ersten Health Posts in War Idaad, einem kleinen Ort nordwestlich von Caynabo, erweitern wir nun unser medizinisches Netzwerk in der eher ländlichen Region im Norden Somalias. Hier stehen Patienten nun von uns ausgebildete medizinische Fachleute und eine kleine Apotheke zur Verfügung.

Die Dürre in Afrika hat vor allem die ländliche Bevölkerung schwer getroffen. Seit Beginn des Jahres 2017 versorgen wir die Dörfer im Norden Somalias mit Wasser und Lebensmitteln. Nur 32 Prozent der Bevölkerung in Somalia hat aktuell Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser. Auch wenn die diesjährige Regensaison besser ausfiel als in den letzten Jahren, ist das Leid in der Bevölkerung groß.