Help in civil war-torn Somalia

The worst drought in 60 years has already driven hundreds of thousands of Somalis to flee to the neighboring countries Kenya and Ethiopia; they hope for help in the completely overcrowded refugee camps. On Wednesday, the United Nations classified three other regions of Somalia as hunger zones – including the community of refugees in the capital Mogadishu. Helping them is particularly difficult due to the security situation. “The city is encircled and many areas are not accessible for us,” Volker Rath, our logistics expert, reports from Mogadishu. “At great risk, people are still coming into the city night after night. I spoke to a mother who had just marched more than 300 kilometers by foot.“

Despite the extremely tense security situation, a Cap-Anamur team of crisis-experienced employees is committed to the help of the people in Mogadishu. Rath organized support for the children’s hospital in Benadir, a district of the capital, during his on-site evaluation visit. Back in Kenya he and Raphael Veicht, a registered nurse, arranged an aid transport: 15 tons of aid supplies will lift off by plane next tuesday. These include much-needed medical devices, drugs and other hospital supplies, as well as specialised and normal food. That is because most of the patients in the 200-bed house suffer from malnutrition.

On board on the way to the children’s clinic in Mogadishu is also a team of ours. Among Veicht there is the technician Andreas Herr and also Luitgard Wiest. She has worked worldwide as a physician – amongst others for Cap Anamur in countries as Afghanistan, Colombia, Angola and Somalia. She has great experience in crisis and disaster situations and will now support the work in the children’s hospital during the first phase. In the middle of August another physician will travel to Mogadishu.

At the same time, we are examining the possibilities for deployment in Somaliland. In the independent, but internationally not ackknowledged state, in the northern part of Somalia, quite a number of refugees have arrived. Cap Anamur supervised a hospital in the capital city Hargeysa for several years.

Hilfe im Bürgerkriegsland Somalia

Die schlimmste Dürre seit 60 Jahren hat bereits hunderttausende Somalier zur Flucht in die Nachbarländer Kenia und Äthiopien getrieben; sie hoffen auf Hilfe in den völlig überfüllten Flüchtlingslagern. Am Mittwoch haben die Vereinten Nationen drei weitere Regionen Somalias als Zonen des Hungers eingestuft – darunter auch die Flüchtlingsgemeinde der Hauptstadt Mogadischus. Ihnen zu helfen ist aufgrund der Sicherheitslage besonders schwierig. „Die Stadt ist eingekesselt und viele Bereiche sind für uns nicht zu erreichen“, berichtet unser Logistiker Volker Rath aus Mogadischu. „Unter großer Gefahr schlagen sich dennoch Nacht für Nacht Menschen in die Stadt durch. Ich habe mit einer Mutter gesprochen, die über 300 Kilometer Fußmarsch hinter sich hatte.“

Trotz der äußerst angespannten Sicherheitslage engagiert sich ein Cap-Anamur-Team aus krisenerfahrenen Mitarbeitern für die Menschen in Mogadischu. Rath organisierte während seiner Evaluierungsreise vor Ort die Unterstützung für das Kinderkrankenhaus in Benadir, einem Bezirk der Hauptstadt. Zurück in Kenia kümmert er sich gemeinsam mit dem examinierten Krankenpfleger Raphael Veicht um einen Hilfstransport: Am kommenden Dienstag startet ein Flugzeug mit rund 15 Tonnen Hilfsgütern. Darunter befinden sich dringend benötigte medizinische Geräte, Medikamente und Krankenhausmaterial sowie Lebensmittel und Spezialnahrung. Denn die meisten der Patienten in dem 200-Betten-Haus leiden an Unter- beziehungsweise Mangelernährung.

Mit an Bord auf dem Weg in die Kinderklinik in Mogadischu ist auch unser Team. Neben Veicht sind das Techniker Andreas Herr und Luitgard Wiest. Die Münchenerin hat weltweit als Ärztin gearbeitet – für Cap Anamur unter anderem in Afghanistan, Kolumbien, Angola und Somalia. Sie hat Erfahrungen mit Krisen- und Katastrophensituationen und wird nun während der ersten Phase die Arbeit in der Kinderklinik unterstützen. Mitte August wird eine weitere Ärztin nach Mogadischu reisen.

Parallel prüfen wir die Möglichkeiten für einen Einsatz in Somaliland. In den unabhängigen, international aber nicht anerkannten Staat im Nordteil Somalias sind ebenfalls etliche Flüchtlinge angekommen. Cap Anamur betreute dort über mehrere Jahre ein Krankenhaus in der Hauptstadt Hargeysa.