International Day for Street Children

Today is the International Day for Street Children. In its refuge house Pikin Paddy in Sierra Leone, Cap Anamur is taking care of children who ended up on the street.

Since June 17, 2020  Cap Anamur is a member of an initiative of five NGOs, which aim to provide a voice to the street children of Sierra Leone. Together all members want to create public awareness for street children and will stand up for their rights.

The Sierra Leone Ministry of Gender and Children’s Affairs intends to revise the national children’s rights.  The initiative recommends that a survey among 112 street children in Freetown, conducted by the Harvard University, should be the basis for this revision. This survey shows the actual living conditions of the street children.

In order to inform the public of Sierra Leone about the street children’s situation, an action day will be held on April 12, 2021. Cap Anamur takes part in this program and thus supports this important educational work.

The initiative has commissioned a song for this action day. Two children from each refuge house participated in a workshop. In this workshop the girls and boys were taught how to write and to produce a song. Afterwards, they recorded the song together in a studio. In their song, they sing about the dangers on the street, the reasons why they ended on the street, but also their hopes and wishes and how they imagine their future.

A video of this song was also produced and can be watched here:

International day for Streetchildren

Heute ist der Internationale Tag der Straßenkinder. In Sierra Leone kümmert sich Cap Anamur im Schutzhaus Pikin Paddy um Kinder, die auf der Straße gelandet sind.

Seit dem 17.Juni 2020 nimmt Cap Anamur zudem an einem Konsortium aus 5 NGOs teil, die den Straßenkindern in Sierra Leone eine Stimme geben möchten. Gemeinsam möchten sie ein Bewusstsein schaffen und setzen sich für die Rechte der Kinder ein.

Das Ministerium für Gender und children affairs von Sierra Leone möchte gerne die nationalen Kinderrechte überarbeiten. Das Konsortium empfiehlt, dass eine Befragung der Harward University von 112 Straßenkinder aus Freetown, der Überarbeitung der Kinderrechte zugrunde gelegt wird. Denn die Erkenntnisse aus der Befragung zeigen das tatsächliche Bild der Situation in der die Kinder leben.

Um auch in der Bevölkerung Sierra Leones auf die Situation der Straßenkinder aufmerksam zu machen findet am 12. April 2021 ein Aktionstag statt. Cap Anamur beteiligt sich am Programm und unterstützt damit die wichtige Aufklärungsarbeit.

Das Konsortium hat für diesen Aktionstag einen eigenen Song produzieren lassen. Dafür durften aus jedem Straßenkinderschutzhaus jeweils zwei Teilnehmer*innen an einem Workshop teilnehmen. Die Mädchen und Jungen haben in diesem Workshop gelernt einen Song zu schreiben und zu produzieren. Gemeinsam haben sie diesen dann im Studio aufgenommen. Darin singen sie von den Gefahren auf der Straße und den Gründen, warum sie auf der Straße gelandet sind aber auch von ihren Wünschen und wie sie sich die Zukunft vorstellen.

Für den Song wurde zudem ein Video produziert, dass Sie sich hier anschauen können: