Sierra Leone: Offering young people a perspective with our Skill Support

In Sierra Leone, we want to create a perspective for the street children in Freetown. Besides the reunification into the families, we also support the boys and girls to go back to school or to complete an apprenticeship.

We have been taking care of the 16-year-old Balley since this spring and were able to successfully return her to her family and provide her with an education at her own request.

Balley was brought to the street children’s shelter at the beginning of March. She was living with her aunt and her aunt’s husband, who unfortunately treated the young girl badly. Balley had to defend herself against some of the man’s assaults and found no help against these assaults from her aunt, but rather she was accused of lying.

As a result, Balley left her aunt and lived on the street from then on. In order to survive, she prostituted herself.

After her arrival at the Pikin Paddy shelter, we had long conversations with her, in which she gradually told us her whole story.

Balley’s story is a typical example of a young girl in Sierra Leone

It turned out that she has a two-year-old daughter and is also married. The child is living with her in-laws. Since Balley neither wanted to get married nor live with her husband, she kept running away. Her own family did not want to take her in, so she ended up with her aunt. But she does not want to go back to her husband or her aunt.

Therefore, we were able to get in touch with Balley’s sister, who was willing to take her in. With this we could prepare the re-integration and we completed it successfully.

From the street back to a regular life

The young mother had never attended school, but wanted to be able to take care of her daughter in the future. Therefore, we were able to arrange an apprenticeship opportunity in the gastronomy with her. Balley expressed the wish that her daughter should stay with her mother-in-law so that she could concentrate on her training.

The apprenticeship reports only good things about the young women. She comes to class on time, works with concentration and shows great effort. She is participating in her apprenticeship with great joy and can finally decide freely what she wants to do. At the training centre, she has become acquainted with other young girls and has to opportunity to simply meet up with a friend and live the life of a teenager. Further, there are no problems with her sister.

At the International Day for Street Children (more in our news from 12.04.2021) Balley reported about her past and her experiences. She advised especially girls to stay at home and avoid a life on the streets. She also referred to organizations like Cap Anamur, which the children can ask for help to end their life on the streets.

Jugendlichen eine Perspektive bieten mit unserem Skill Support

In Sierra Leone möchten wir für die Straßenkindern in Freetown eine Perspektive schaffen. Neben der Reunification in die Familien, unterstützen wir die Jungen und Mädchen auch, zurück in die Schule zu gehen, oder eine Ausbildung zu absolvieren.

Die 16jährige Bally betreuen wir seit diesem Frühjahr und konnten sie erfolgreich zu ihrer Familie zurückbringen und ihr auf eigen Wunsch eine Ausbildung ermöglichen.

Balley wurde Anfang März zu ins Straßenkinder-Schutzhaus gebracht. Sie lebte bei ihrer Tante und deren Mann, die beiden haben das junge Mädchen leider schlecht behandelten. Balley musste sich gegen einige Übergriffe des Mannes wehren und fand bei ihrer Tante vor diesen Übergriffen keine Hilfe, sondern wurde sogar des Lügens bezichtigt.

Daraufhin verließ Balley ihre Tante und lebte seither auf der Straße. Um zu überleben hat sie sich prostituiert.

Nach ihrer Ankunft im Schutzhaus Pikin Paddy haben wir lange Gespräche mit ihr geführt, in denen sie uns erst langsam ihre ganze Geschichte erzählt hat.

Die Geschichte von Balley ist ein typisches Beispiel eines jungen Mädchens in Sierra Leone

Es stellte sich heraus, dass sie eine zweijährige Tochter hat und auch verheiratet ist. Das Kind lebt bei den Schwiegereltern. Da Balley weder die Hochzeit wollte noch mit ihrem Mann zusammenleben will, ist sie immer wieder weggelaufen. Ihre eigene Familie wollte sie nicht mehr aufnehmen, daher war sie auch bei ihrer Tante gelandet. Doch sie wollte weder zurück zu ihrem Mann noch zu ihrer Tante.

Wir konnten Kontakt zu Balleys Schwester aufnehmen, die bereit war sie aufzunehmen. Damit konnten wir die Reintegration vorbereiten und haben diese erfolgreich durchgeführt.

Von der Straße zurück in ein geregeltes Leben

Die junge Mutter hat noch nie die Schule besucht, wollte aber zukünftig gerne für ihre Tochter sorgen können. Daher haben wir mit ihr eine Ausbildungsmöglichkeit in der Gastronomie vereinbaren können. Balley äußerte den Wunsch, dass ihre Tochter bei ihrer Schwiegermutter bleiben solle, damit sie sich auf die Ausbildung konzentrieren könne. Die Ausbildungsstelle berichtet nur Gutes von der jungen Frau. Sie kommt pünktlich zum Unterricht, arbeitet konzentriert mit und zeigt sich sehr bemüht.

Mit großer Freude macht sie ihre Ausbildung und kann endlich frei entscheiden was sie machen möchte. Im Ausbildungszentrum hat sie andere junge Mädchen kennen gelernt und kann sich nun auch einfach mal mit einer Freundin treffen und ein Leben einer Jugendlichen führen. Auch bei Ihrer Schwester gebe es keine Probleme.

Beim Internationalen Tag für Straßenkinder (mehr dazu in unserer News vom 12.04.2021) berichtete Balley von ihrer Vergangenheit und ihren Erlebnissen. Sie riet besonders Mädchen zuhause zu bleiben und ein Leben auf der Straße zu vermeiden. Sie berichtete von Organisationen wie Cap Anamur, die die Kinder um Hilfe bitten können um ihr Leben auf der Straße zu beenden.