Learning to walk

On a foggy day, the decrepit shanty town of Susan-Bay looks particularly sad. It is one of the many slums of Freetown. The narrow path Cap Anamur social worker Ruth Zemedebrhan and her Sierra Leonian colleague Jonathan are taking, is lined by shacks and flooded after heavy rain. It demands skill to avoid the deep puddles. Then, finally, the two reach their destination: but the eight square meter hut is occupied by someone else now. Back then, the family of Samuel, a 13-year-old boy our team had picked up on the street the night before and taken to Cap Anamur’s new house for street children, lived here.

“Our first tours in the downtown area at night-time were distressing,” says Ruth Zemedebrhan. The street worker from Stuttgart, Germany, moved to Freetown, the capital of Sierra Leone, in July to coordinate the local project. “It was pitch-dark, the normally crowded streets were almost empty. Some teenagers in tattered clothes, many of them without shoes, were roaming through the streets – drunk or under the influence of drugs and without any perspective in life.” We approached them and woke up those sleeping behind self-made board partitions. “What happened to you? Why do you live on the streets?” – that is how most conversations started. But the most important question of every night: “Are you willing to leave the streets?”. We invite all children who answer with a “yes” – and the next morning almost all of them are waiting at the gates of the Pikin Paddy Center on Hagan Street. “Including Samuel”, says the 31-year-old.

Finally being able to shower off the dirt of many weeks, eat one’s fill without having to beg and sleep in a real bed with clean sheets! Samuel stays for two weeks. “All children are free to leave our house whenever they want. So we have to offer them better perspectives in live,” says Ruth Zemedebrhan. “But Samuel’s trust grows quickly as we care about his well-being. We learned that his mother had passed away and that he could not return to his violent father. But after making some inquiries, we managed to find Samuel’s adult brother, who was happy to take him in. However his income is barely sufficient for himself alone, so Samuel regularly joins us for meals at the ‘Pikin Paddy’ – which translates to ‘Friend of the Children’”. Over the next few weeks, we found Samuel – to our team’s delight – at home on all unannounced visits. And he is now able to go to school again, impossible before because of the lack of money. Now Cap Anamur helps with the school fees, school uniform and books.

Background:

After a long civil war, almost three out of four Sierra Leoneans live below the poverty line. There are at a guess 2,000 street children in the capital Freetown alone. Our team supports children and teenagers with their plans for the future: social workers mediate between them and their families, assist with the reintegration into schools; they provide advice, conciliate and – maybe one of the most important tasks – they listen to the children.

Laufen lernen

Bei Nebel wirkt der Anblick auf die marode Hüttenlandschaft von Susan-Bay besonders traurig. Es ist einer der zahllosen Slums von Freetown. Der schmale vom Regen überflutete Weg führt die Cap-Anamur-Sozialarbeiterin Ruth Zemedebrhan und ihren sierra-leonischen Kollegen Jonathan zwischen Wellblechhütten hindurch. Es erfordert etwas Geschick, den tiefen Pfützen auszuweichen. Dann, endlich, erreichen die beiden ihr Ziel: Doch in der acht Quadratmeter großen Hütte wohnt nun jemand anderes. Damals lebte hier die Familie von Samuel, dem 13jährigen Jungen, den unser Team nachts zuvor auf der Straße aufgegabelt und in das neue Cap-Anamur-Straßenkinderheim aufgenommen hat.

„Unsere ersten nächtlichen Touren durch das Stadtzentrum waren erschreckend“, schildert Ruth Zemedebrhan. Die Stuttgarter Streetworkerin ist im Juli nach Freetown, die Hauptstadt Sierra Leones gezogen, um das Projekt vor Ort zu koordinieren. „Es war stockdunkel und die sonst überfüllten Straßen fast leer, einige Jugendliche stromerten herum, in zerfetzter Kleidung, manche ohne Schuhe, betrunken oder unter Drogeneinfluss, und ohne jegliche Perspektive. Wir sprachen sie an und weckten jene, die hinter selbst konstruierten Bretterverschlägen einen Schlafplatz gefunden hatten. ‚Was ist mit dir passiert? Warum lebst du auf der Straße?‘ – so oder so ähnlich beginnt die Unterhaltung. Die wichtigste Frage der Nacht: ‚Bist du bereit, die Straße zu verlassen?‘ Kinder, die mit Ja antworten, laden wir zu uns ein. Fast alle stehen am nächsten Morgen vor den Toren des Pikin Paddy Centers in der Hagan Street. Darunter auch Samuel“, berichtet die 31-Jährige.

Endlich den Schmutz vieler Wochen abduschen, sich satt essen ohne betteln zu müssen und in einem frischen Bett schlafen! Zwei Wochen bleibt Samuel. „Alle Kinder können, wenn sie wollen, unser Haus wieder verlassen. Wir müssen ihnen also glaubhaft etwas Besseres für die Zukunft vermitteln“, so Ruth Zemedebrhan. „Doch Samuels Vertrauen wächst schnell, denn es geht uns um sein Wohl. So erfuhren wir, dass seine Mutter gestorben war. Zurück zu seinem gewalttätigen Vater konnte er nicht. Aber sein erwachsener Bruder, den wir nach einiger Recherche ausfindig machen konnten, nahm Samuel gern auf. Allerdings reicht sein Einkommen kaum für ihn allein, deswegen kommt Samuel regelmäßig zum Essen ins Pikin Paddy, was übersetzt so viel bedeutet wie „Freund der Kinder“. In den kommenden Wochen war Samuel – zur großen Freude unseres Teams – bei allen unangekündigten Besuchen zu Hause. Und auch die Schule besucht er nun endlich wieder. Dafür hatte zuvor das Geld gefehlt. Nun hilft Cap Anamur mit Schulgebühr, -uniform und -büchern aus.

Hintergrund:

Nach langem Bürgerkrieg leben fast drei Viertel der Sierra Leoner unterhalb der Armutsgrenze. Allein in Freetown gibt es schätzungsweise 2.000 Straßenkinder. Unser Team unterstützt Kinder und Jugendlichen bei ihren Zukunftsplänen: Die Sozialarbeiter vermitteln zwischen ihnen und ihren Familien, helfen ihnen bei der Wiedereingliederung die Schule, führen Beratungs- und Schlichtungsgespräche und, eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben, sie hören den Kindern zu.