Our second school opens

In April 2015, an earthquake in the Himalayas devastated large swathes of Nepal. Cap Anamur immediately sent an emergency relief team to the country to distribute food to the residents of the mountain village Judeegaun and provide medical care. Our planning for the construction of two new earthquake-resistant schools for the villages of Judeegaun and Chandeni began shortly thereafter. In May, the first school opened in Judeegaun, with the celebration for the opening of the second school taking place in Chandeni at the end of September.

Around 500 villagers came to the celebration along with the 15 principles of the neighboring schools. At the ceremony, community representatives gave their heartfelt thanks to Cap Anamur and its German donors for their support. The school’s principle expressed his appreciation by presenting our team with a certificate.

Construction in Chandeni started in January this year with extensive excavation work. “For several weeks, trucks and diggers took away the debris of the school destroyed by the earthquake and leveled off the ground”, our logistic expert Horst Hühnlein explained. “The preparation work came to an end just as the construction of our first school in Judeegaun was completed. This allowed the building team in Judeegaun to move on to Chandeni at the end of February.”

New earthquake-resistant schools

Like our first school in the village of Judeegaun, the school in Chandeni has four buildings with classrooms. The most important consideration for both schools was that they had to be resistant to earthquakes. Large windows provide the classrooms with a lot of light and excellent air circulation between the corrugated iron roof and the ceiling keeps the temperature comfortable. A total of 380 children from grades 1 to 12 will be taught in the Chandeni school.

“There was tremendous applause when the keys were handed over”, Horst Hühnlein said. “Our team and the Nepalese builders were repeatedly forced to stop working because of heavy rainfall, which made it very difficult to reach the school. For this reason, it is even more rewarding to finally open the school and see so many happy faces.”

At the end of the project, we dug a well for each school. While a depth of 12.5 meters was sufficient in Judeegaun, to have a properly functioning well in Chandeni, we had to dig 155 meters so that enough water could be pumped. In the end, all our efforts paid off – the well will not only provide the school with drinking water, the entire village will benefit from it because water from this source can be accessed from multiple locations.

>>> We would like to thank our donors who made this reconstruction project in Nepal possible!

Eröffnung unserer zweiten Schule

Im April 2015 zerstörte ein Erdbeben im Himalaya große Teile Nepals. Cap Anamur schickte sofort ein Nothilfe-Team ins Land, das Nahrungsmittel für die Bewohner des Bergdorfs Judeegaun verteilte und sie medizinisch versorgte. Rasch begann unsere Planung für den Wiederaufbau von zwei neuen erdbebensicheren Schulen für die Bergdörfer Judeegaun und Chandeni. Im Mai öffnete in Judeegaun die erste Schule ihre Pforten, Ende September fand nun auch die feierliche Eröffnung unserer zweiten Schule in Chandeni statt.

Zum Fest kamen rund 500 Dorfbewohner sowie die 15 Direktoren der benachbarten Schulen. Während des Festes bedankten sich die Vertreter der Gemeinschaft herzlich bei Cap Anamur und den deutschen Spendern für ihre Unterstützung. Der Schuldirektor brachte seine Anerkennung zum Ausdruck und verlieh unserem Team eine Urkunde.

Begonnen haben unsere Baumaßnahmen in Chandeni im Januar dieses Jahres mit umfangreichen Erdarbeiten: „Wochenlang waren LKW und Bagger im Einsatz, um die vom Erdbeben zerstörte Schule abzutragen und das Erdreich zu ebnen“, berichtet unser Logistiker Horst Hühnlein. „Die Beendigung der Vorarbeiten fiel zeitlich mit dem Bauabschluss unserer Schule in Judeegaun zusammen. So konnte das Bau-Team Ende Februar von Judeegaun nach Chandeni weiterziehen.“

Neue erdbebensichere Schulen

Auch diese Schule verfügt, wie die erste im Bergdorf Judeegaun, über vier Gebäude mit Klassenzimmern und auch hier war die wichtigste Maßgabe der erdbebensichere Bau. Zudem sorgen große Fenster für helle Klassenräume und eine ausgezeichnete Luftzirkulation zwischen dem Wellblechdach sowie den Decken für ein gutes Klima. Insgesamt werden in der Schule von Chandeni 380 Schüler der 1. bis 12. Klasse unterrichtet.

„Bei der Schlüsselübergabe gab es großen Applaus“, so Horst Hühnlein. „Unser Team und die nepalesischen Bauarbeiter mussten wegen der starken Regenfälle immer wieder Zwangspausen einlegen, denn dann war die Schule nur schwer erreichbar. Umso glücklicher sind wir nun, die fertige Schule eröffnen zu können und in die viele zufriedenen Gesichter zu blicken.“

Zum Abschluss dieses Projektes haben wir für jede Schule einen Brunnen gebohrt. Während in Judeegaun eine Tiefe von 12,5 Metern ausreichend war, um einen sehr ergiebigen Brunnen zu bauen, mussten wir in Chandeni 155 Meter tief bohren, um ausreichend Wasser pumpen zu können. Die Anstrengungen haben sich gelohnt: Der Brunnen wird in Zukunft nicht nur die Schule mit sauberem Trinkwasser versorgen, auch die Dorfbevölkerung profitiert mit zahlreichen Entnahmestellen von dieser Quelle.

>>> Wir danken unseren Spendern, die dieses Wiederaufbau-Projekt in Nepal ermöglicht haben!