Visiting our project site in Lebanon

Part of monitoring our projects around the world is to visit them on a regular basis. This is why board member Mathias Lindstedt paid a visit to our project site in Lebanon for Syrian refugees in February of this year. Besides providing medical care for often seriously injured and traumatised refugees, Cap Anamur has recently started operating a physiotherapy and social pedagogy practice, which provides free treatment for refugee children with physical disabilities.

One of these children is Saada. The now 17-year old underwent open surgery on her back as a small child; her spine is crooked and her legs are partially paralysed and stunted preventing her from straightening her knees, which makes her unable to walk. Mathias Lindstedt was quite impressed with the work of physiotherapist Nihal and project leader Volker Rath. ‘We could already see positive results even though Saada had only been receiving treatment for 2 months,’ said her doctor. The 11-year-old Fahid is another patient. He lives in a small room with his 10 siblings and his mother. As a result of oxygen deficiency, he suffers from general body weakness and is now receiving physiotherapeutic treatment thanks to Cap Anamur. Social pedagogue Farah and voluntary social worker Suzanne play and communicate with him. He needs ortheses and special shoes, which will be paid for by Cap Anamur – thus giving him a completely new attitude towards life.

The project initiated by Cap Anamur for refugee children with disabilities is the only one of its kind in the refugee camp in Sidon. Not only does the physiotherapy improve the children’s quality of life, but it also makes their families’ lives easier.

In addition to the project, Cap Anamur provides access to medical treatment for Syrian refugees. Apart from covering the cost of transport to the medical practice, we also pay for treatment and medication. ‘Despite most refugees living in terribly small, damp, unfinished buildings or tents, they are all incredibly friendly and accommodating. Our presence in Lebanon is desperately needed and my colleagues on site are doing great work,’ concluded board member Mathias Lindstedt after visiting the refugee camp in Sidon.

>> Help us help others. Your donation saves lives.
>> Want to get involved? Apply here.

Projektbesuch im Libanon

Zur Kontrolle unserer weltweiten Projekte gehört auch der regelmäßige Besuch derselben. Daher besuchte Vorstandsmitglied Mathias Lindstedt unser Projekt für syrische Flüchtlinge im Libanon im Februar dieses Jahres. Neben der medizinischen Versorgung der häufig schwer verletzten und traumatisierten Flüchtlinge, unterhält Cap Anamur seit kurzem auch eine physiotherapeutische und sozialpädagogische Praxis, in der Flüchtlingskinder mit verschiedenen körperlichen Behinderungen kostenlos behandelt werden.

Eines dieser Kinder ist Saada. Die heute 17-Jährige wurde als Kleinkind am offenen Rücken operiert, ihre Wirbelsäule ist verbogen, ihre Beine teilweise gelähmt und verkürzt, so dass sie die Beine in den Knien nicht strecken und daher nicht laufen kann. Von der Arbeit der Physiotherapeutin Nihal und des Projektleiters Volker Rath war Mathias Lindstedt schwer beeindruckt. „Seit zwei Monaten war Saada erst in Behandlung und dennoch zeigten sich bereits positive Ergebnisse“, so der Arzt. Ein weiterer Patient ist der 11-jährige Fahid. Mit seinen zehn Geschwistern und seiner Mutter lebt er in einem kleinen Raum. In Folge eines Sauerstoffmangels leidet er unter einer Schwäche des gesamten Körpers, die nun durch Cap Anamur physiotherapeutisch behandelt wird. Die Sozialpädagogin Farah und die Sozialvolontärin Suzanne spielen und kommunizieren mit ihm. Er benötigt Orthesen und besondere Schuhe, die wir ihm finanzieren und die ihm ein völlig neues Lebensgefühl geben.

Das von Cap Anamur initiierte Projekt für Flüchtlingskinder mit Behinderung ist im Flüchtlingslager in Saida einzigartig. Durch die physiotherapeutische Behandlung bekommen die Kinder nicht nur Lebensqualität zurück, auch die Familien werden dadurch entlastet.

Zusätzlich zu dem Projekt ermöglicht Cap Anamur den syrischen Flüchtlingen einen Zugang zu medizinischer Behandlung. Neben dem Transport zur Arztpraxis übernehmen wir auch die Kosten der Behandlung und der Medikamente. „Obwohl die meisten Flüchtlinge in furchtbar kleinen und feuchten Rohbauten oder Zelten leben, sind alle unglaublich freundlich und zuvorkommend. Unsere Anwesenheit im Libanon ist dringend von Nöten und die Mitarbeiter vor Ort leisten tolle Arbeit“, so das Fazit des Vorstandsmitglieds Mathias Lindstedt nach dem Besuch des Flüchtlingslagers in Saida.

>> Helfen Sie uns helfen. Ihre Spende rettet Leben.
>> Sie wollen selbst aktiv werden? Bewerben Sie sich jetzt.