Boulder destroyed four living-huts

By Dennis Wellmann

During the night of Sunday to Monday a massive boulder dissolved from a hillside, not far from our Streetkids-project Pikin Paddy, and destroyed four living-huts. Within the process four young men died, who have since been recovered from the rubble. The search for missing persons continues.

Preliminary estimates suggest that about 53 people have lost their housing, 22 of whom are children. Because Cap Anamur was the first international aid organization on-site, we immediately started with some relief measures. Initially our team provided food and drinking water for the people. Three children, who were homeless due to the accident and were not able to find a place to sleep right then, found shelter at Pikin Paddy. For the upcoming weeks, the other children concerned are invited to eat at Pikin Paddy.

The misfortune took place in Magazine Wharf, a poor district in the capitol of Sierra Leone, Freetown. That is where Cap Anamur supervises the Pikin Paddy since 2012. Furthermore, we are running a hygiene project since July this year to prevent Ebola, which includes the cleaning and disinfection of toilets in the slum area.

We are glad, that we are able to provide fast and uncomplicated support.

Felsbrocken zerstört vier Wohnhütten

Von Dennis Wellmann

In der Nacht von Sonntag auf Montag löste sich an einem Hang unweit unseres Straßenkinderprojektes Pikin Paddy ein gewaltiger Felsbrocken und zerstörte vier Wohnhütten. Dabei starben vier junge Männer, die bereits aus den Trümmern geborgen wurden. Die Suche nach Vermissten läuft weiter.

Nach ersten Schätzungen ist davon auszugehen, dass etwa 53 Menschen ihr Obdach verloren haben, davon sind 22 Kinder. Weil Cap Anamur als erste internationale Hilfsorganisation vor Ort war, haben wir sofort mit einigen Hilfsmaßnahmen begonnen: Zunächst hat unser Team Nahrungsmittel und Trinkwasser für die Menschen bereitgestellt. Drei der Kinder, die durch den Unfall obdachlos geworden sind und auf die Schnelle keinen Schlafplatz gefunden haben, fanden Unterschlupf im Pikin Paddy. Für die kommenden Wochen sind auch die anderen betroffenen Kinder eingeladen, zum Essen ins Pikin Paddy zu kommen.

Das Unglück geschah in Magazine Wharf, einem Armenviertel von Sierra Leones Hauptstadt Freetown. Hier betreut Cap Anamur seit 2012 das Pikin Paddy. Zudem haben wir zur Prävention von Ebola seit Juli dieses Jahres ein Hygieneprojekt laufen, das die Reinigung und Desinfektion von Toiletten in der Slum-Gegend umfasst.

Wir sind froh, dass wir auch jetzt schnelle und unkomplizierte Hilfe leisten können.