Back from the streets

According to UN estimations, more than 2.000 kids do currently live on the streets of Freetown, the capital of Sierra Leone. In order to survive, these kids take little jobs, start to steal or beg or even prostitute themselves. It is a dangerous live, with a too early dead for too many of them. For this reason we founded the “Pikin Paddy” a shelterhome for homeless children in the heart of the city. How do we actually work with the kids from the streets in Sierra Leone?

Our five phases program:

The Cap Anamur-Team in Freetown has developed an effective five-phases-program to get kids away from living on the streets and reunite them with their families in the long term.

  1. Tracking: Tracking means spotting the kids on the streets of Freetown and inviting them to the Pikin Paddy. Nowadays the house is already known among the homeless kids, so sometimes they even get in contact themselves and ask for shelter.
  2. Family Tracing: In the shelterhome the kids do not only get a real bed, good food and clothes, but also the right education suiting their actual age and situation. Meanwhile our social workers are looking for their families and try to get in contact with them.
  3. Mediation: Once the kids family members are spotted, our social workers try to get a connection to them. The children keep staying at the Pikin Paddy during mediation. We will examine why the kid needed to leave its family for a life on the streets.
  4. Reunification: After a detailed screening of the families through our Cap Anamur-socialworkers, we will work on the right solution approach together with all family members. Finally the kids will be able to return to their home.
  5. Follow-up: In regularly intervals we will visit the kids in their families and adapt the support accordingly. In case of stable domestic circumstances we will reduce the frequency of our visits.

Current Numbers

In total 80 kids – 60 boys and 20 girls – where given shelter from the Cap Anamur-staff  in the Pikin Paddy this year. Of which 59 could be led back successfully to their families and 17 are still at the Pikin Paddy. The families of four kids could not be located and unfortunately five kids went back to the streets after being reunited with their families.

This results in a success rate of  91,5 %.

Von der Straße zurück zur Familie

Über 2.000 Kinder leben nach Schätzungen der Vereinten Nationen aktuell auf den Straßen Freetown, der Hauptstadt Sierra Leones. Um zu überleben nehmen sie kleinere Aufgaben an, stehlen, betteln oder prostituieren sich sogar. Es ist ein gefährliches Leben, das für zu viele früh endet. Daher haben wir vor einigen Jahren mitten in der Hauptstadt das „Pikin Paddy„, ein Schutzhaus für Straßenkinder, gegründet. Doch wie läuft die Arbeit mit den Straßenkindern in Sierra Leone eigentlich ab?

Unser Fünf-Phasen-Programm

Das Cap Anamur-Team in Freetown hat ein effektives Fünf-Phasen-Programm entwickelt, um die Straßenkinder auch langfristig von der Straße zu holen und wieder Zuhause zu integrieren:

1. Tracking: Beim Tracking werden die Kinder auf den Straßen Freetowns aufgesucht und ins Pikin Paddy eingeladen. Das Haus ist unter den Straßenkindern Sierra Leones inzwischen sogar so bekannt, dass sie teilweise von selbst kommen und um eine Aufnahme bitten.

2. Family Tracing: Im Schutzhaus bekommen die Kinder nicht nur ein richtiges Bett, ordentliches Essen und Klamotten, sondern auch ihrem Alter entsprechende Schulbildung oder eine passende Ausbildung. Unsere Sozialarbeiter versuchen in der Zeit die Familienangehörigen zu finden und suchen diese auf.

3. Mediation: Ist die Familie eines Kindes schließlich gefunden, stellen unsere Sozialarbeiter den Kontakt her. Die Kinder wohnen während der Mediation erst mal weiterhin im Pikin Paddy. Es wird geprüft, warum das Kind die Familie verlassen hat und auf der Straße leben musste.

4. Reunification: Nach der ausführlichen Überprüfung der Familien durch die Cap Anamur-Sozialarbeiter werden zusammen mit allen Familienangehörigen Lösungsansätze erarbeitet. Die Kinder kehren nach Hause zurück.

5. Follow-up: Die Kinder werden regelmäßig in Ihren Familien besucht und die Unterstützung der jeweiligen Situation angepasst. Bei stabilen häuslichen Gegebenheiten vergrößern sich die Besuchsabstände.

Aktuelle Zahlen

Insgesamt 80 Kinder – 60 Jungs und 20 Mädchen – betreuten die Cap Anamur-Mitarbeiter in Sierra Leone dieses Jahr im Pikin Paddy. Davon konnten 59 Kinder erfolgreich zurück in ihre Familien vermittelt werden, 17 befinden sich aktuell noch im Pikin Paddy und bei vier Kindern war keine Zurückvermittlung möglich, da die Familien nicht aufgefunden werden konnten. Von den 59 Kindern, die wir wieder in ihre Familien zurückvermitteln konnten, sind leider fünf Kinder zurück auf die Straße.

Daraus ergibt sich eine Erfolgsquote von 91,5 Prozent.