Christmas at the shelter for street children

Christmas time is a special time – also in Freetown, the capital of the West African country Sierra Leone. Normally about one million people live here, but at Christmas the population increases significantly. Many come to Freetown from the country side or from smaller towns to visit relatives and friends. Therefore the city is now even noisier and busier than usual.

The Christmas season also makes itself felt in Pikin Paddy, the Cap Anamur shelter for street children in Sierra Leone. The house is festively decorated and the children in joyful excitement. The big day here is December 25th. It doesn’t matter whether the children are Muslim or Christian – in the Pikin Paddy they pray together and also celebrate together.

On this day, the kitchen is already working from five o’clock in the morning. On two large coal stoves the food sizzles in huge pots. Chicken legs are fried and large quantities of couscous, pasta and potato salad are prepared. A small highlight, as usually in Sierra Leone the staple food rice is available almost daily. To celebrate the day every child also gets a soft drink. A social worker has agreed to make ice cream for dessert for everyone. A feast. After the meal the music is turned up and dancing commences. Despite their full bellies, nothing can keep the children sitting still on their chairs. Our employee Saidu Bah, who is responsible for the hygiene project as well as for the sports lessons of the children, has provided a sound system and a DJ. He doesn’t want money for this, because everybody contributes his share to make the party a good one.

The children do not expect any presents here. This day is about being together, celebrating together and having fun. And our employees and children excel at this every year in Pikin Paddy.

Weihnachten im Straßenkinderschutzhaus

Die Weihnachtszeit ist eine besondere Zeit – auch in Freetown, der Hauptstadt des westafrikanischen Landes Sierra Leone. Normalerweise leben hier etwa eine Millionen Menschen, doch an Weihnachten steigt die Einwohnerzahl deutlich. Viele kommen vom Land oder aus kleineren Städten nach Freetown, um hier Verwandte und Freunde zu besuchen. Daher ist die Stadt nun noch lauter und geschäftiger als sonst.

Auch im Pikin Paddy, dem Cap Anamur Schutzhaus für Straßenkinder in Sierra Leone, macht sich die Weihnachtszeit bemerkbar. Das Haus ist festlich geschmückt und die Kinder in freudiger Aufregung. Der große Tag ist hier der 25. Dezember. Dabei ist ganz egal, ob die Kinder muslimischen oder christlichen Glaubens sind – im Pikin Paddy wird zusammen gebetet und auch zusammen gefeiert.

In der Küche wird an diesem Tag schon ab fünf Uhr morgens gearbeitet. Auf zwei großen Kohleöfen brutzelt das Essen in riesigen Töpfen vor sich hin. Es werden Hühnerschenkel frittiert und große Mengen Couscous-, Nudel- und Kartoffelsalat angerührt. Ein kleines Highlight, da es normalerweise in Sierra Leone fast täglich das Hauptnahrungsmittel Reis gibt. Zur Feier des Tages bekommt jedes Kind außerdem einen Softdrink. Eine Sozialarbeiterin hat sich bereit erklärt für alle zum Nachtisch Eis selbst zu machen. Ein Festessen. Nach dem Essen wird die Musik aufgedreht und getanzt. Trotz der vollen Bäuche hält die Kinder dann nichts mehr auf den Stühlen. Unser Mitarbeiter Saidu Bah, der für das Hygiene Projekt, sowie auch für den Sportunterricht der Kinder zuständig ist, hat eine Musikanlage und einen DJ besorgt. Geld will er dafür nicht, denn jeder trägt seinen Teil dazu bei, das Fest schön zu gestalten.

Die Kinder erwarten hier keine Geschenke. An diesem Tag geht es um das Zusammensein, zusammen feiern und Spaß haben. Und das gelingt unseren Mitarbeitern und Kindern im Pikin Paddy jedes Jahr sehr gut.