World Refugee Day 2018

The annual World Refugee Day is supposed to raise awareness for those who were forced to flee their home countries due to violence, hunger, persecution or fear. Most of them don’t go far but remain close to their homes, hoping to be able to return soon.

Providing aid in many different countries, Cap Anamur is committed to helping those who have no other option but to flee their homes.

Ongoing war in Syria

In Syria, the regime is at war against its own citizens. Of the 21 million Syrians, 12 million have fled the country. Almost half of all Syrian refugees are children. Many of them hope that they will soon be able to return home and thus stay in Syria’s neighbouring country Jordan, where they live in poor conditions. In Jordan, Cap Anamur provides free care for Syrian refugees in three clinics.

Cap Anamur also provides care for Syrian refugees in Lebanon. According to official figures, 4.3 million Lebanese live in their country of birth – a large number considering the size of the country, which is merely half as big as Bavaria. Furthermore, half a million Palestinians, who have been living in their camps for decade – and now many Syrians – have found refuge there. The precise number of refugees currently living in Lebanon is unknown. 1.2 million Syrians are registered, but there may be as many as 1.7 million Syrian refugees living in the country. This means that about half of Lebanon’s population are refugees. Unlike in many other countries, refugee children are entitled to school education in Lebanon. Unfortunately, only very few of them can actually attend school because they have no way of getting there. Cap Anamur is making sure that more and more children can reach their schools by providing transport for them. Moreover, we organise small repairs in villages. Most of the time, it is water pumps or machines for waste disposal that are in urgent need of repair so that hygienic conditions improve and diseases are prevented.

For five years, Cap Anamur has been providing aid in Jordan. Over 600,000 Syrians sought refuge in Syria’s neighbouring country, 80,000 of whom are registered in the Zaatary refugee camp. Our work there started in November 2013. Since then, we have provided aid in a dental practice and physiotherapy practice for wounded soldiers. We now run four medical institutions in Jordan, in which our aid workers provide free care for refugees. This year we have also opened a new dental practice in the big Zaatary camp.

Lack of prospects in Bangladesh

The Rohingya people are among the most persecuted minorities in the world. Late August, there were riots between the government army and the Muslim minority, whose people are not recognised as citizens, in Myanmar. These riots occur frequently. The vast majority of the population in Myanmar is Buddhist. About 500,000 Rohingya have fled to Bangladesh, where they now live in poorly maintained camps. The Rohingya aren’t welcome in Bangladesh either, however, returning to Myanmar is not an option. Cap Anamur immediately responded to the situation by providing emergency relief in Bangladesh. Thus, the refugees received tents, blankets, food and basic medical care.

Open borders in Uganda

The landlocked country in eastern Africa has taken in almost half a million refugees from South Sudan – even though Uganda is one of the poorest countries in the world. Considering its open border policy and the distribution of agricultural land, Uganda’s way of dealing with refugees is regarded as exemplary. The city of Moyo and Uganda’s border with southern Sudan are only a couple of miles apart. Cap Anamur coordinates medical care for the many refugees and Ugandans from a hospital located in Moyo.

Internally displaced persons in Sudan

For 20 years we have also been helping the displaced people of Nuba in Sudan. Sudan is one of the countries with the most internally displaced persons worldwide. This is why Cap Anamur provides aid for these people right where it’s needed, supplying them with relief goods and providing medical care. We have managed to create a large network in this region. It consists of six outposts that are about 100 kilometres away from our hospital in Lwere. Moreover, we carry out a vaccination programme across the region, thus immunising 42,000 children against polio, measles, tuberculosis, diphtheria, whooping cough, hepatitis, and tetanus every year.

Weltflüchtlingstag 2018

Der Weltflüchtlingstag soll jedes Jahr auf all die Menschen aufmerksam machen, die durch Gewalt, Hunger, Verfolgung oder Angst gezwungen waren ihre Heimat zu verlassen. Die meisten von ihnen ziehen nicht weit sondern bleiben, in der Hoffnung auf baldige Rückkehr, in der Nähe ihrer Heimat.

Cap Anamur engagiert sich in verschiedenen Ländern für Menschen, die aus unterschiedlichen Gründen fliehen mussten.

Anhaltender Kriegszustand in Syrien

In Syrien führt das Regime Krieg gegen die eigene Bevölkerung. Von 21 Millionen Syrern sind aktuell über 12 Millionen auf der Flucht. Fast die Hälfte aller syrischen Flüchtlinge sind Kinder. Viele der Vertriebenen hoffen, bald in ihre Heimat zurückkehren zu können und haben sich daher unweit von Syrien, im Nachbarland Jordanien, notdürftig niedergelassen. In drei Kliniken versorgt Cap Anamur dort kostenfrei syrische Flüchtlinge.

Auch im Libanon versorgt Cap Anamur syrische Flüchtlinge. Offiziell leben 4,3 Millionen Libanesen in ihrem Geburtsland, das noch nicht einmal halb so viel Fläche hat wie Bayern. Dazu kommen eine halbe Million Palästinenser, die seit Jahrzehnten in ihren Camps leben – und nun, seit einigen Jahren, auch syrische Flüchtlinge. Genaue Zahlen, wie viele Flüchtlinge sich aktuell im Libanon aufhalten, gibt es nicht. Doch zu den rund 1,2 Millionen offiziell registrierte Syrern kommt eine Dunkelziffer von bis zu 500.000. Das bedeutet, dass etwa die Hälfte der derzeitigen Population im Libanon aus Flüchtlingen besteht. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Ländern haben Flüchtlingskinder im Libanon ein Recht auf Schulbildung. Leider haben nur wenige Kinder tatsächlich die Möglichkeit, eine Schule zu erreichen. Cap Anamur sorgt für den Transport dieser Kinder zu ihren Schulen. Darüber hinaus organisieren wir kleine Reparaturen in den Siedlungen. Dabei geht es meist um Wasserpumpen oder Geräte für die Müllbeseitigung, um die hygienische Situation zu verbessern und Krankheiten vorzubeugen.

Schon seit fünf Jahren engagiert sich Cap Anamur in Jordanien. Über 600.000 Syrer haben im Nachbarland Schutz gesucht, davon sind etwa 80.000 Flüchtlinge im Lager Zaatary registriert. Angefangen hatte unsere Arbeit vor Ort im November 2013 mit der Mitarbeit in einer Physiotherapie für Kriegsverletzte und der Eröffnung einer Zahneinheit. Inzwischen haben wir in Jordanien vier medizinische Einrichtungen, in denen unsere Mitarbeiter Flüchtlinge kostenlos versorgen. Erst in diesem Jahr eröffneten wir eine neue zahnmedizinischen Einheit im großen Flüchtlingslager Zaatary.

Perspektivlosigkeit in Bangladesch

Als eine der am meisten verfolgten Minderheiten der Welt gelten die Rohingya. Ende August waren in Myanmar erneut Unruhen zwischen der Regierungsarmee und der muslimischen Minderheit, die in Myanmar nicht als Staatsbürger anerkannt wird, ausgebrochen. Dort ist der Großteil der Bevölkerung buddhistischen Glaubens. Etwa 500.000 Rohingya flohen nach Bangladesch, wo sie nun in notdürftigen Lagern untergebracht sind. Auch im Nachbarland sind die Rohingya keine willkommenen Gäste, doch an eine Rückkehr ist nicht zu denken. Cap Anamur reagierte sofort und leistete Nothilfe in Bangladesch. So versorgten wir die Flüchtlinge mit Zelten, Decken, Nahrungsmitteln und Basismedizin.

Aufnahme statt Abschottung in Uganda

Fast eine Millionen Flüchtlinge aus dem Südsudan hat der Binnenstaat in Ostafrika inzwischen aufgenommen, wobei Uganda zu den ärmsten Ländern der Welt gehört. Mit seiner Politik der offenen Grenzen und der Zuweisung von zu bewirtschaftendem Land gilt Ugandas Umgang mit Flüchtlingen als vorbildlich. Die Stadt Moyo liegt nur wenige Kilometer von der Grenze zum Südsudan entfernt. Von dem Krankenhaus der Stadt aus koordiniert Cap Anamur hier die medizinische Versorgung der vielen Flüchtlinge und der Einwohner Ugandas.

Binnenflüchtlinge im Sudan

Seit bereits 20 Jahren unterstützen wir nun auch das vertriebene Volk der Nuba im Sudan. Der Sudan gehört zu den Ländern mit den meisten Binnenflüchtlingen weltweit. Cap Anamur hilft deswegen den Menschen direkt vor Ort, liefert ihnen Hilfsgüter und ermöglicht ihre medizinische Versorgung. Mit mittlerweile sechs Außenposten im Umkreis von etwa 100 Kilometern um unser Krankenhaus in Lwere haben wir in dieser Region ein breites Versorgungsnetz aufbauen können. Zudem führen wir ein gebietsweites Impfprogramm durch, mit dem wir jährlich über 42.000 Kinder gegen Polio, Masern, Tuberkulose, Diphterie, Keuchhusten, Hepatitis und Wundstarrkrampf immunisieren.

Helfen Sie uns helfen! Spenden Sie für die Vertriebenen.