Key health facts

Life expectancy at birth: 62 years (women), 60 years (men)
Infant mortality per 1,000 births: 66
Doctors per 1,000 inhabitants: 0.3

Cap Anamur first got active in Afghanistan between 1987 and 1989. Since we returned in 2001 we have been incessantly running projects.

Situation in the country

For decades, Afghanistan has been a country with a complex security situation, in which rival militia groups try to use the vaguely defined power structures in the country’s 34 provinces to their advantage, while the central government’s enforcement hardly ranges beyond the capital Kabul. It is mostly the civilian population that suffers under the bloody conflict. Many people flee violence and lack of future perspective; especially those who manage to stem the financial cost of emigration. This brain drain affects mostly the category of professionals who could have had an impact in the development of the country’s civil society and infrastructure. Wide areas of the country are medically under-resourced; especially rural areas lack doctors, midwives and health structures. The long access routes to the few existing hospitals are not only dangerous, but also expensive and intractable for very sick patients or pregnant women.

Our goal

Improve provision of medical care, especially in the rural areas.

Our activities

Management of a three-year training programme for nurses, the students of which originate from rural areas and return to their villages in order to improve local medical care. In previous years, we had been offering two training courses for midwives and community health nurses. Their combined over 200 graduates are now deployed in rural regions.

In order to increase the number of medical structures and the portfolio of treatments in the country, we are setting up hospitals, running them for an initial three-year period and handing them over to the state’s health care system thereafter. So far we have erected six fully functional clinics.

We further support one of the few dialysis stations in the country, which with our help performs around 2,100 treatments per year.

Picture Gallery

Project Reports:

Gesundheitliche Eckdaten

Lebenserwartung: 62 Jahre (Frauen), 60 Jahre (Männer)
Säuglingssterblichkeit pro 1.000 Geburten: 66
Ärzte pro 1.000 Einwohner: 0,3

Cap Anamur engagierte sich erstmals in der Zeit von 1987 bis 1989 in Afghanistan. Seit 2001 betreiben wir wieder ununterbrochen Projekte im Land.

Situation im Land

Bereits seit Jahrzehnten ist Afghanistan ein Land mit komplexer Sicherheitslage, in dem rivalisierende Milizengruppen versuchen, die unklaren Machtstrukturen in den 34 Provinzen des Landes für sich zu nutzen, während der Einflussbereich der Regierung meist nicht über die Hauptstadt Kabul hinausreicht. Unter den blutigen Konflikten leidet vor allem die Zivilbevölkerung. Viele Menschen flüchten vor Gewalt und Perspektivlosigkeit, insbesondere jene, die die hohen Kosten einer Abwanderung finanziell tragen können. Mit ihnen verliert Afghanistan eben jene Fachkräfte und Akademiker, die einen großen Beitrag für die gesellschaftliche und infrastrukturelle Weiterentwicklung des Landes hätten leisten können. Weite Teile des Landes sind medizinisch unterversorgt, vor allem in ländlichen Regionen fehlt es an Ärzten, Hebammen und Gesundheitseinrichtungen. Die langen Anfahrtswege zu den wenigen Krankenhäusern sind für die Landbevölkerung nicht nur gefährlich, sondern auch teuer und für schwer Erkrankte oder hochschwangere Frauen kaum zu bewältigen.

Unser Ziel

Verbesserung der medizinischen Versorgung vor allem in den ländlichen Gebieten.

Unsere Aktivitäten

Betreuung eines dreijährigen Ausbildungsprogramms für Krankenpfleger/innen, deren Teilnehmer aus ländlichen Regionen stammen und nach der Ausbildung wieder in ihre Heimatdörfer gehen, um die medizinische Versorgung dort zu verbessern. Zuvor hatten wir über Jahre hinweg zwei Ausbildungswege für Hebammen und Community Health Nurses angeboten, deren insgesamt über 200 Absolventinnen bereits in ruralen Gebieten tätig sind.

Um die Anzahl medizinischer Einrichtungen und das Behandlungsspektrum im Land zu erhöhen, errichten wir Krankenhäuser und übergeben sie nach dreijährigem Betrieb in staatliche Hände. Mittlerweile haben wir bereits sechs vollwertige Kliniken gebaut.

Zudem unterstützen wir eine der wenigen Dialysestationen des Landes, die mit unserer Hilfe etwa 2.100 Dialysen pro Jahr durchführt.

Bildergalerie

Projektberichte: