History

The Foundation

Since 35 years Cap Anamur has supported the lives of people in need even in the truest sense of the word. The beginning is marked by the refugees from Vietnam who in 1979 on their way to freedom were stranded between life and death in the South China Sea: travelling on decrepit and hopelessly overcrowded boats, they were exposed to heavy thunderstorms and constantly threatened by pirate attacks. Thousands of them lost their lives.

Rescue of thousands of Boat People

Christel and Rupert Neudeck didn’t want to watch the unfolding disaster as idle bystanders. Together with friends they spontaneously founded the committee “Ein Schiff für Vietnam” (“A boat for Vietnam”). For their rescue operation they chartered the cargo ship Cap Anamur, which was named after a cape on the Turkish coastline. Despite all prophecies of failure, their first and all further tours were a great success: More than 10.000 “Boat People” were rescued; around 35.000 further people received medical care on board.

The encouragement received by the German population enabled the organization to continue their work. That was the beginning of the association “Cap Anamur – Deutsche Not-Ärzte e.V.” Since then we focus our activities on sustainable life aid for people in Africa, Asia and even in Europe. With the help of our donors we have realized projects in over 50 countries. Many challenges still lie ahead of us. Unfortunately the need for humanitarian aid is not decreasing. Yet we know: We can make a difference.

Geschichte

Die Gründung

Die Geschichte von Cap Anamur begann im Jahr 1979. Zu Beginn standen die vietnamesischen Flüchtlinge, die im südchinesischen Meer auf dem Weg in ihre vermeintliche Freiheit in Lebensgefahr gerieten: Schuld waren ihre altersschwachen und völlig überladenen Boote, die heftigen Unwetter und die zahlreichen Piratenübergriffe. Für Tausende bedeutete das den Tod.

Christel und Rupert Neudeck wollten nicht tatenlos zusehen. Gemeinsam mit Freunden gründeten sie spontan das Komitee „Ein Schiff für Vietnam“. Für ihre Rettungsaktion charterten sie den Frachter „Cap Anamur“ – benannt nach einem Kap an der türkischen Küste. Allen Unkenrufen zum Trotz waren diese und die darauffolgenden Fahrten ein großer Erfolg: Über 10.000 „Boat People“ konnten gerettet werden, weitere rund 35.000 Menschen wurden an Bord medizinisch versorgt. Der große Zuspruch innerhalb der deutschen Bevölkerung ermöglichte es uns, weiterzumachen. Das war die Geburtsstunde des Vereins „Cap Anamur – Deutsche Not-Ärzte e.V.“.

Projekte am Land

Nach den großen Erfolgen auf dem Südchinesischen Meer, war keine Zeit, um sich auszuruhen. Es folgten die ersten Projekte an Land. Schulen und Krankenhäuser wurden gebaut, medizinisches Personal ausgebildet, hungernde und durstende Menschen versorgt und Infrastrukturen wiederhergestellt oder gar völlig neu aufgebaut. In über 50 Ländern konnten wir bisher mit der Hilfe unserer Spender Projekte verwirklichen. Zahlreiche weitere Aufgaben liegen noch vor uns. Denn der Bedarf an humanitärer Hilfe wird leider nicht weniger. Doch wir wissen: Man kann etwas bewegen!